Andrew

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Großbritannien, Serbia, Ungarn

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    12.01.2019 - 07.09.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    Hey Andrew here, looking for hostel work. I have recently withdrawn from a masters course due to financial reasons as I don't have 10 grand to spare so I am looking to work but get away at the same time, I rather be doing something than doing nothing. I'm a stereotypical Englishman being bad at foreign languages but my English is amazing. I'm not looking to work in places where I can't communicate in English as I had a bad experience in the past and also somewhere that treats me like a friend.

    I am a sociable person that can work well with groups and on my own. I have a thirst for travel and love talking to people about their cultures and lifestyles. I like to avoid narrow mindedness and accept that everyone is different and not to judge. I like working in hostels because you make friends with all sorts of characters.

    My previous experiences with Workaway down below
    - I worked for a family on a home stay in the Faroe Islands (Jan and Feb 2019), cleaning and helping around their house.
    -I volunteered in hostel in Tirana, Albania (March 2019) for a month taking on such duties as reception work day and night shifts, changing bed sheets, cleaning the outside garden area, showing guests to various locations in the city.
    -I volunteered in a hostel in Pristina, Kosovo for a month (April 2019) taking on similar roles as mentioned before. I found pretty straight forward and easy to handle.
    - I volunteered in Kyrgyzstan for 2 months (June and July 2019) looking after a hostel by myself in a remote location called Cholpon Ata. I had to take on every role in the hostel and had to leave a note on the hostel door whenever I wanted to go a break in case someone came while I was out .I had to use my own pen and paper system when checking in guests due the location being so cut off and would count out the money every day and send it to the owner when I saw her. I didn't understand Russian so I had run the hostel with language barriers checking in each guest, dividing the rooms for suitable people groups (male,female,mixed, private etc) well as cleaning each bed and shower rooms everyday. It was hard because I was on my own without help but I was able to manage my time well because I was organised and gave me great confidence being in charge if I have to.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Good knowledge of volunteering, hard working, good communicator, team worker, understanding the customers needs. Customer service skills, Retail skills from charity work, IT skills including film editing (I worked in film for a while). I'm a Englishman so my English is very good. I've volunteered in hostels before so I use to how they operate

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Alter

    30

  • Was noch ...

    I am ready to volunteer ASAP. I don't demand any luxury. I've used hostels many times so I'm used to how they operate.

    Just to note I'm colour blind with red and green so I don't wish to work with food because of this.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      None

Fotos

Chilling in Torshavn the capital of the Faroe Islands
Hiking in the Faroe Islands
Checking out Tirana
Park in Tirana
I made friends with a few Albanians who invited me to a masquerade party whilst I was volunteering in Tirana. Didn't have any smart clothes on me so I was most casually dressed person there.
Exploring the Baazar in Peja, Kosovo
Rugova Mountains in Kosovo. Walked all that way to the lake just to find out it's frozen over.
University grounds in Pyongyang, North Korea
Military parade in Pyongyang, North Korea. One of the few foreigners to have access.
Markets in Beijing, China
Lived in France for a year in 2016. The euro football was on whilst I'll was there so I supported France. The people in the photo had no idea I was English
Exploring Toulouse, France
Waterfall in Costa Rica

Feedback