Ethan

aus: Argentinien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    beliebiges Land

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    25.04.2021 - 30.06.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    If I’m lucky enough to join your family for a few days or months, you’ll find me happily focused on jumping in to help however I can. This is what gives me the greatest satisfaction – supporting kind and loving people as they kindly and lovingly support other people, animals, and the environment around them.

    Since 2013 I’ve been moving from one ranch to another, focused on “working for food and housing, and a sense of meaning.” In this time I did a WorkAway at a Buddhist retreat center, and those amazing humans helped me see that my life is more enjoyable and meaningful when I focus less on what “I want” and more on “How to be of service to others.”

    At these ranches (guest and working, in Argentina, Montana, Nicaragua, Wyoming, and California) some my jobs have included: leading guest rides; cooking in kitchens and the backcountry; washing dishes and cleaning toilets; milking the cow and making the cheese; trucking horses; weeding; shopping for food and supplies; trimming hooves; packing mules; working cattle drives; guiding pack trips; herding goats and sheep; helping with basic maintenance and construction; and So On.

    These days I’m less concerned about trying to orchestrate specific experiences, and more interested in seeing what unfolds. That said, I'm definitely drawn to living simply, and being directly involved in food production -- farming organically and sustainably so I can feed others, and nurture Nature.”

    I seem to do best when I’m spending lots of time outdoors, being physical. But at one ranch they needed help with budgeting, so I spent some time on the computer doing that. So I'm flexible, would like to help where most needed.

    In terms of kids, I don’t have my own but I’m super kid-friendly, love hanging out with them, learning from them, sharing a thing or two.

    In terms of living conditions and personal space, I don’t care if I’m sleeping in a tent, a private room, or in a dorm. All good. I get along great with most people, and enjoy meeting new people, and hosting. At the same time, I definitely appreciate good stretches of alone time to “recharge.”

    In terms of food, I try to be flexible, and feel grateful for whatever is served up. That said, more and more I’m interested in healthy, organic, whole foods, as well as figuring out how to nourish myself and others in a manner that is most healthy for us, and the environment. For example, I try to stay away from wheat (for myself), but I enjoy baking the bread (for others).

    In terms of language, I’m native in English (USA), and fluent in Spanish (Argentina). For a couple years I taught English, and I have tutored Spanish – and I would definitely enjoy giving you a Language Hand.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this, and good luck with your search.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    - General ranch hand skills
    - Milking cow / Making basic cheese
    - Cooking -- kitchen / backcountry
    - Basic Construction & Carpentry & "Handyman" Work
    - Wrangling (working with horses at guest ranches)
    - Horsemanship -- western, ranch, "natural" (not "starting". . . yet)
    - Guiding -- Trail Rides, Pack Trips
    - Packing (mules & horses)
    - Chainsaw / Firewood
    - Stock hauling (manual, up to 20-foot trailer)
    - Teaching English & Spanish

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Experience teaching English and Spanish, happy to help, tutor, inspire.

  • Alter

    49

  • Nationalität

    United States / Argentina (resident)

  • Was noch ...

    Right now (March 2021) I am working on a ranch in Argentina, looking for a (safe, responsible) way to get to the United States, within a few hours of San Francisco.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Feedback