Emily & Milton

aus: Großbritannien & Uruguay

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgarien, Kroatien, Montenegro, Serbia

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    20.08.2018 - 31.12.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    We are Emily (U.K.) and Milton (Uruguay). We are currently travelling Europe with our bikes and a rescue kitten Sjena, looking for our place in the world so we can start hosting our own volunteers!

    Milton is adventurous, positive, curious, and sociable. He used to be a musician in the Uruguayan navy until leaving his job to follow his dream to travel - precisely to reach Angel Falls in Venezuela. In his four years of travel, he has embraced his new lifestyle and discovered for himself that the journey is just as interesting - or even more so - than the destination itself (and no, he hasn't yet got as far as Angel Falls!). Milton's hobby is challenging himself - his various personal challenges have included setting up his touring bike using discarded and recycled materials for the least amount of money possible, figuring out how to make his own slippers out of woven palm leaves, and spending three days in complete silence whilst working on a bioconstruction project!

    Friendly, calm and empathetic, Emily enjoys life to the full and always gives the most of herself to achieve her goals in the most practical and simple way. An adventurer by nature, she caught the travelling bug straight after university when she spend a year travelling and WWOOFing in New Zealand. Always looking to challenge herself, she then spent 8 years working in tourism and leading walks in the mountains of Europe before buying a one-way ticket for herself and her bike, Bridget, to South America. Her original goal to reach Colombia in a year quickly vanished as her journey taught her to say yes to to the different opportunities that presented themselves every day. Emily loves reading, nature and the environment, meeting new people, and of course travelling on her faithful two-wheeled companion.

    We love learning new things - languages, crafts, building techniques, or anything else that grabs our attention. We have lately become interested in Permaculture and hope to learn more, add to our skill set, and share the knowledge we have.

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Natural building - especially wood and cob
    We helped construct a cob building in Argentina, where there was a strong emphasis on using local and recycled materials. (Photos below.)

    Earth ovens
    We would be delighted to make one with you! (See photos.) If you have the desire and space for a sauna we can learn together.

    Composting toilets and humanure
    We can build composting toilets and the composting shed.

    Rainwater collection systems
    We are keen to try building a water tank and accompanying filtration system. We haven't made one personally but we have seen them in action and have a remote mentor to ask the necessary questions!

    Gardening and food production
    We have worked in a number of organic and sustainable gardens and are keen to learn more about food production in a sustainable way.

    Foraging
    We love taking walks to collect some of the abundant foods available all around us. We especially enjoy sharing this knowledge with others.

    Building furniture
    Milton has experience of building furniture out of natural branches and reclaimed materials.

    Standard construction methods
    Milton has some experience in this field but he definitely prefers getting his hands really dirty with natural materials!

    Cooking and experimenting in the kitchen
    Especially with vegetarian and vegan food. We have on occasion catered for large numbers (both one-pot-wonders over an open fire for 25+ travellers, and Emily has chalet host experience in Europe). We have some knowledge of fermenting (vegetables, sourdough bread, kefir ...)

    Emily worked for 8 years in the tourism industry in Italy, Spain, Austria and France and has a good attention to detail as well as being a certified people-person!

    Most importantly we have social skills and a willingness to learn! We are flexible, motivated and able to work independently.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Serbo-Croatian: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    34 & 31

  • Was noch ...

    We are travelling with a rescue kitten, Sjena. We found her in the Croatian mountains with a broken leg in autumn 2020 and she is now very well behaved, sociable with other cats, housetrained and a great companion cat!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian (Emily)

Fotos

Feedback