Elizabeth

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Argentinien, Ecuador

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    Reisezeit flexibel

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Greetings!
    I am from Madison, Wisconsin, USA, and I currently work part of the year as the broadcast engineer at McMurdo Station, Antarctica.
    In my most recent life, in addition to working full-time at McMurdo Station, I have been a volunteer barista, shuttle driver, clothing repair-person, library attendant, violin teacher, and journalist (not all at the same time!) There's a lot to do in the McMurdo community if you're like me and like to stay busy.
    Before I lived the Antarctic life, I lived in a housing cooperative with 9-12 people and took care of our ten chickens. I have worked as a radio broadcaster for ten years. In my little spare time I enjoy singing, playing music, reading, writing, knitting, sewing, hiking, and biking.
    I have been using Workaway since early 2014. So far I have done the following:
    - Yard work and maintenance in Ireland (2014)
    - Earthbag house building help in Spain (2014)
    - English language practice in Morocco (2014)
    - Gardening and other yard work in Croatia (2014)
    - Café and B&B help in Norway (2014)
    - Yard work and construction help in Alaska (2016)
    - Yard work and construction help in Montana (2019)
    As far as work skills, I'm probably most handy around a radio station, but I also enjoy work that lets me be creative, like writing, computer work, painting, and making things. I'm also comfortable caring for chickens and doing yard work. I thrive on structure and enjoy working alone or with other people as long as I have a good sense of what is expected of me.
    I enjoy being alone and am good at entertaining myself, but I also like spending time with other people, especially in more low-key settings like game nights, movie nights, and house dinners. I'm not much of a pub crawl person but I absolutely love a good dance party!
    At my cooperative we took turns cooking dinner every night, we each had a regular "house job" and also pitched in with daily and weekly house cleaning jobs, so I am very comfortable sharing common areas with others, sharing house chores, and living with a lot of people in general.
    I look forward to sharing adventures and learning from you, and I am happy to teach you some music skills and how to knit!
    Thanks for reading.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    -Radio broadcasting/station management
    -Writing (news articles, copy editing, grant writing and technical writing)
    -Knitting socks, hats, mittens, and sweaters
    -Clothing repair
    -Earthbag house construction (Basic skills)
    -Weeding!
    -Manual labor
    -Cleaning/organizing
    -Music (violin, guitar, melodica, singing)
    -I have also, at some point in my life: Learned to juggle, learned to ride a unicycle, built a guitar out of a cookie tin, and built a harp out of PVC pipe.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Alter

    28

  • Nationalität

    American

  • Was noch ...

    I travel with a digital recorder and audio editing software, and am always on the lookout for the nearest radio station for volunteer opportunities.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No.

Fotos

Plastering the earthbag house in Spain.
Decorating the house!
Making a harp out of PVC pipe.
I love knitting!
I like making pies.
I made a cookie tin guitar.
Me with one of my favorite chickens.
At the radio station at McMurdo.
In McMurdo's record room.
At a field camp in Antarctica.
Leading the McMurdo marching band at the annual new year's eve outdoor music festival.
A sweater I knit.

Feedback