Brianna

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    I am headed to Peru on October 4, hoping to do a lot of backpacking and meeting other travelers!

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Peru - von Mär 2022 bis Jun 2022
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    I love the outdoors—from sports like backpacking and climbing, to just laying on the grass or beach and reading a book.

    My main goal when I quit my job in July of 2020 was to dedicate myself to exploring different lifestyles and different ways to contribute to the world, and thus learn about the world and myself in the process. When I started my travels the areas I definitely wanted to explore were:

    -Teaching
    -Farm life
    -Humanitarian aid
    -Sustainability
    -Working with animals

    Since then, I have spent 6 months in Ecuador, 6 months in Colombia, and a few months with family. During this time I had two experiences teaching English and two experiences living and working on farms- one finca in the rainforest, and one dog rescue ranch in the mountains. Each volunteer position I did for 1 - 3 months.

    Then, I focused on humanitarian aid. I took a pause in traveling to work for an NGO on the Colombia/Venezuela border for 5 months. I began as a volunteer, but I found the work there to be so incredibly important and fulfilling, I stayed an extra 4 months as a Coordinator. But now it is time to know another country and lifestyle.

    The skill I want to try next is to work with horses. I would say I have an upper beginner level of riding, I am comfortable trotting and galloping, but have never ridden for more than 4 hours in one day, and in recent years I have only ridden about once per year. I have no experience in caretaking of horses.

    I also have a love of learning. Over the past year I learned Spanish fluently and am now studying German, and am hoping to find a Workaway position where I can continue to practice and develop my skills with both languages. I also love learning through meeting people with different backgrounds than my own. Either learning about their culture, or any unique skills they have that are different from mine.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Trampen
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Mannschaftssportarten
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Wandern
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Bücher
    Events & Sozialleben
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    1. Engineering: I have a background (BS degree) in Electrical engineering. In addition to the engineering side of my job, I’ve also had to do a lot of electrical panel wiring and troubleshooting, which has made me good at working with my hands, often in cramped spaces, and using hand tools.

    2. Teaching: My electrical engineering role also involved instruction, both informally teaching customers as we worked together and the instruction of formal classes of 10-15 adults. I also completed the 120-hour TEFL (Teach English as a Foreign Language) certification. Since I began backpacking in October of 2020, I have volunteered in 3 Workaway programs that involved teaching English, for a total of around 3 months of experience teaching English to children.

    3. Physically capable: I am as fit as any backpacker, so I can (and would like to) help out with physical labor. Be it farming, construction, home improvement, I can probably handle it, with the exception of heavy lifting. I have now volunteered at 2 farmstay Workaway projects, one primarily involving outdoor gardening/land maintenance and the other taking care of animals.

    4. Language: Intermediate in Spanish and beginner German

    5. Collaboration: I am a great team player, I can get along with and work with just about anyone. My role as an engineer was customer-facing, so I have experience in treating customers with professionalism and kindness.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Interested in practicing Spanish and learning German

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    27

  • Was noch ...

    I love animals- my family has had both dogs and cats growing up, so I would be happy to live somewhere surrounded by them. I have ridden horses on and off my whole life, just once a year or so for fun, and am now interested in gaining more experience with them.

    My favorite board games: Settlers of Catan, Hearts, Codenames, Dominion

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback