Ayla

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    30.09.2019 - 10.01.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    Hi there!!
    My name is Ayla and I live in a very small town in New Hampshire (USA). I am an avid hiker, climber, and cross-country skier, I also love photography, running, and I am always happy to try new activities (perhaps very clumsily.. but nonetheless XD)! I am very interested in learning about different parts of the world and their cultures, especially sustainable resourcing, farming/gardening, and languages!
    Currently I am studying at the University of Puget Sound in Washington State, where I am focusing on Biology and Chemistry with an emphasis on environmental and natural sciences, and getting out into the mountains as much as possible to climb and hike.
    Throughout my childhood (up until high school), I attended an alternative elementary school of just 15 students. Located on a small organically-run farm in Northern New Hampshire, we worked together to steer the direction of our learning. When given such freedom in a school environment, we were driven to learn because WE wanted to! This experience has continued to shape how I live and learn. I am constantly finding new things to learn about because I WANT to-- my experience at the Woodland Community School has driven me to be a strong and independent person, as well as teaching me from a young age the importance of our earth and all the ways in which we must care for it.
    In high school, I spent the spring break of my junior and senior years working in abandoned sugarcane bateyes in the Dominican Republic. As my first real experience internationally, these trips showed me my true love for travel! Through hand-building schools and community centers, I became increasingly aware of the good that a single person or group of people can do in the world. With just our hands and some tools, we were able to provide over forty elementary and preschoolers a place to learn, whilst exchanging skills, jokes, and bits of our languages!
    In June-July 2019 I spent six weeks working on a small family-run vegetable farm (via WorkAway) in northern Italy, and I absolutely loved learning even more about small-scale agriculture. I believe that traveling the world is an imperative part of learning- no matter the subject. There are so many contrasting ways of life and cultures that it would be nearly impossible to experience them all, but my future experiences with Workaway will certainly teach me a little more! (and I can share my passions with my hosts!) :)

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Gardening, (vegetable) farm experience, landscaping/construction, lead-belay certified, Wilderness First Responder certified, I am very strong and enjoy hard work, very creative :) I LOVE the outdoors, as well as artistic projects! I am a very happy and easy-going person, and will do my best work no matter the project :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some French, some Italian, a tiny tiny bit of Spanish... would love to learn more languages!!

  • Alter

    19

  • Was noch ...

    I absolutely love working outside! I have always loved exploring and being in new places/meeting new people :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian as well as healthy eating in general :)

Fotos

Feedback