Will

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    beliebiges Land

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi - I'm Will. I am a 25-year-old man. I come from a village called Cranleigh in Surrey, England. I have a degree in English Language & Literature from the University of Oxford, and have worked for a number of the UK's leading architectural heritage charities in and around London. Having spent the summer as an assistant facilitator at a Permaculture education centre in Sintra, Portugal, I am now currently based in Lisbon, and am studying a Masters (remotely) in Ecological Design Thinking with Schumacher College - an independent academic institution in the UK offering holistic courses around ecology and regenerative culture and practices.

    I have a calm and laid-back disposition. I believe art, leisure, good company, and the enjoyment of life's pleasures are more important than commercialism or careerism. However, I work hard at things which interest me, and which I believe to be of genuine value and quality. Such things would include: creative, cultural, and regenerative projects, social enterprises, learning, and education. I respect good craftsmanship in one's work, whether physical or intellectual.

    I am equally content in my own company (reading, listening to music, meditating - or indeed getting on with a task!) as I am in the company of others. I enjoy good conversation over food and drink. I am interested in other people's experience, thoughts, ideas, and advice, and am always willing to offer my own in return.

    I love reading. I mostly read works of classic literature (essays, poetry, plays, novels etc.), philosophy, and theory, and books on nature, architecture, and travel. Some of my favourite writers include Michel de Montaigne, W. G. Sebald, Gabriel Marquez, Wendel Berry, Kurt Vonnegut, Walter Benjamin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Dylan Thomas, David Fleming - to name a random few. I love Bach, and can play a little on the piano. I can also play a bit of guitar. In terms of film, some of my favourite directors include Werner Herzog, Paul Thomas Anderson, Stanley Kubrick, Akira Kurosawa, Wes Anderson, Ridley Scott, and Andrei Tarkovsky.

    I'm deeply fascinated by the landscapes, cultures, and histories of different places - and I believe that the best way to experience these is through and with the people that live and work in those places. I love exploring - preferably either by foot, by bike, or by boat. I have been trekking in Nepal and Italy, I have cycled across Normandy in France, I have canoed the River Thames, and I have sailed from Malaga to Cadiz through the Strait of Gibraltar. I try to travel slowly and sustainably as far as possible.

    I joined Workaway because I think it shows humanity at its best - our impulse to simply help each other out. My hope is to see the world a bit - to meet and learn from new and interesting people; to contribute to worthwhile projects; to drink life to the lees.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I would say my main skill (and my academic background) is in working with ideas - in creative, abstract, and critical thinking - and also in working with words - as a writer, speaker, and teacher.

    My work with a number of architectural heritage charities in the UK typically involved overseeing content & communications, and helping with cultural programming. So, my 'professional' skills generally include writing, editing, and research, as well as producing digital content (videos, blogs, articles, podcasts etc.) and cultural events. I've also got a bit of (basic) experience helping build/maintain websites.

    Recently, I've been trying to broaden my skill-base to include more creative practices - particularly writing essays and poetry, and analogue photography - as well as more practical and design-oriented skills and approaches.

    I attained a Permaculture Design Certificate last year, and am always seeking opportunities to learn more and apply its principles - both in my own life, and in projects I'm involved with. I've since had experience helping out in gardens and on farms, with tasks ranging from fencing and wall-building, to garden maintenance and food preparation. I'm hoping also to learn more about working with traditional buildings - both carpentry and masonry.

    I would say I have modest DIY, mechanical, and electrical experience, having spent a couple of weeks helping restore a sailing boat. This involved (among other things): changing out the engine and installing a brand new one; installing new leisure batteries and re-wiring navigation instruments; dismantling, cleaning, resealing and reinstalling the hatches; and sanding, grinding, treating, and re-painting the hull. Not to mention cleaning the boat afterwards... The boat stayed afloat and everything seemed to work fine, so clearly I was doing something right!

    While I'm not necessarily the most knowledgeable or experienced in any of these areas, I'm capable, motivated and attentive, and will learn quickly with a bit of guidance. Indeed, above all else, I'm interested in the art of learning and of teaching, which are two sides of the same coin.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    26

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Soya

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Prefer to eat vegetarian where possible

Fotos

Feedback