Thom

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    United Kingdom - von Sep 2021 bis Mär 2022
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Hi my name is Thom, originally from the North of England. Ive been doing workaway on and off since 2015 when I was hitch-hiking around Ireland. Until recently I was full time Head Gardener for a small country estate and hotel on the Scottish border, which was quite formal. Looking after a country estate's formal gardens and a 2 acre walled garden with many types of fruit, vegetables and flowers.

    I had a great time, but as much as I love horticulture having no free time to pursue other arts just isnt the way of life for me. I look at land as more than just a commodity - community and culture as more important than profit!

    For now my plans are to live with more time for the creative arts, weather that's as part of workaway or in my spare time. I used to work as a street portraitist on the Royal Mile in Edinburgh and have sold quite a lot of other pieces but mainly drawings – I'm still learning to paint which is one of the reasons workaway appeals.

    I'd also love to learn more about different ways of living, both from the land but also culturally and practically, weather its sharing in different foods, skills, ideas or anything else – particularly off grid/self sufficiency/crafts/localism/wider theories.

    Horticulture and arts are my main skill sets, but any help that could come in handy would be a pleasure. Manual work or not, it doesnt matter to me as much as good place and people :)

    It would be a bonus if there are any of the following nearby: Interesting gardens, Ancient Sites, Art Galleries, Good Charity Shops.

    More about me: I'm originally from the UK, lived in Edinburgh and Ireland and hoping to explore more of Europe. Im mainly interested in Art and work as a street portraitist aswell as small design commissions and drawing lessons.

    I try to live according to principles of ecology, permaculture, biodynamic organic farming and holistic activities and lifestyles. Was vegan for 2 years, now vegetarian, do yoga daily and love cycling and music of all genres. I really love literature and films too.

    Right now I'm hoping to travel and meet new people, share new experiences and culture such as cooking and language, or films and music, Ive been introduced to so many fascinating things and met amazing people travelling so I look forward to the possibility of more challenges and adventures that a nomadic life can bring.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Kunstprojekte
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    All things Art and Design , had a few commissions but not in it for the money.
    Worked in city centre restaurants as well as organic cafes.

    Horticulture: Gardened since very young and was head gardener for 2 years. Am always learning and looking to learn but can also teach many tips and tricks for instance on propagation and pruning.

    English language skills - from a teaching/journalism family, i'd be more than happy to give assistance to English language students in clear concise English as well as sharing ideas on creative aspects of communication. especially if they can help remedy my abysmal foreign language skills ''}

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    35

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegan ok with occasional dairy

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback