Thara & Charlotta

  • Schweden & Finnland
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (1)

Good Workawayer


  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    zu Hause

  • Beschreibung


    We are Charlotta (21) from Finland/Netherlands and Thara (21) from Sweden/Belgium, newly graduated bachelors and eager to see and experience the world. We have known each other since the beginning of our bachelor's in 2019 and have been inseparable ever since. :)

    After we both acquired a European Public Health Bachelor's degree from Maastricht University in the Netherlands this year (2022), we felt the urge to take a much-needed break from our academic studies to learn more about- and experience- sustainable and healthy living. We are both very passionate about health in a manner that transcends the traditional western medicinal practices and that also includes spirituality, mental wellness, as well as environmental and animal health. Let us introduce ourselves!

    Charlotta is passionate about health and especially mental health among young adults. They believe in the destigmatization of mental health illnesses through raising awareness and education. Thus, they have made electives in their academic career that integrates aspects of mental health studies in their overall passion for health, immersing themselves in topics such as eating disorders, addiction, panic disorders and more. Charlotta displays the same level of passion towards animals, especially cows, since to them they embody virtues such as generosity and serenity. Moreover, animal cruelty and environmentalism are two of the many reasons why they decided to go plant-based seven years ago. Another reason relates to their interest in sustainability and practicing sustainable consumerism. They love to go "thrifting" in second-hand stores to limit the immense negative impact that the fast fashion industry has on our planet and its violation of human rights. Further, being a queer woman, women's rights, and the rights of people belonging to the LGBTQIA+ community, are important movements to them. Their enthusiasm for the cause translates into activism in the form of regularly attending peaceful protests, exhibitions, educational seminars, and more. Charlotta also sees themselves as a spiritual being, loves meditation, and journaling, and wishes to learn more about spirituality as a whole. They have also participated in EF (2017) in order to learn more about other cultures and see new parts of the globe.

    Thara has always been interested in both health and food, and the connection between them, and that is why she was drawn toward her bachelor's degree. On top of that, she is an animal lover and believes that we need to take better care of this Earth and its guests. That is why she has been vegetarian since her late teens and vegan as of 2020. Furthermore, growing up in an international environment allowed her to become aware- and develop a particular liking for- cultural diversity and values, ways of living, and customs. The privilege of attending the European School in Brussels allowed her to familiarize herself with interculturality and develop a bottomless curiosity about European internationality. After all, we are all sharing this earth and we should treat each other with curiosity and respect. Through her academic studies and living in Maastricht, she discovered the added importance of sustainable healthy living and the food practices that comes along with such an indispensable lifestyle. She believes food to be a great part of all cultures and has a child-like curiosity for different food and agricultural practices, and what they mean to people. Thara also had the opportunity to participate in the Défi-Belgique-Afrique cultural exchange program in 2018, which allowed her to partake in a one-year sustainability course in preparation to visit Burkina-Faso for a 3-week period. This experience awakened a new enthusiasm for sustainable agricultural practices that advocates for environmentally friendly family farms and their practices.

    Now that you know a bit more about us and our backgrounds, let us share why we would like to experience a WorkAway stay together. We wanted to explore our shared passions for nature, healthy living, and sustainability more hands-on, and we hope that a WorkAway experience can teach us more about sustainable food practices, farming, and general values that surround farming life. We hope to make valuable friendships along the way, with people that share our enthusiasm for the passions we have. We would love to spend a meaningful gap year with meaningful people that can help us grow and find new perspectives on life for our future. :)

  • Interessengebiete

    Yoga / Wellness
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Film & Fernsehen
    Kochen & Backen
    Vegetarier / Veganer
    Politik & Soziales

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Finnish: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    We are curious, eager, and hard-working people looking to diversify our skills during our WorkAway experience. Seeing as we are quick learners, we believe that we can be of great help with various tasks depending on what is needed of us. Charlotta is very strong and athletic and does weightlifting in their free time. Thara has some- but limited- experience with farming practices through a past experience in Burkina-Faso where she worked alongside locals during a reforestation and agricultural project.

    Collectively, we speak 6 different languages with great proficiency. We both love to prepare and cook food and consider ourselves to be very clean people. We share a love for animals dearly; we both have dogs at home and Thara has a background in managing stables and horses as well, so we could be of great help in caring for your beloved animals.

  • Alter

    22 & 22

  • Was noch ...

    We enjoy sports, socializing, and being in nature. We both love to draw and paint in our free time. We have a special attachment to playing the Wii Nintendo as we did when we were kids, especially playing "Mario Kart", "Wii Sports" and "Just Dance". In the weekends we typically like to explore new bars, go to live music events, participate in lectures and seminars on various topics or relaxing in the park.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      no allergies

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      We are both plant-based, mostly vegan.