aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ


  • ...



  • ...


    24.10.2020 - 30.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I joined workaday as I like to travel and explore new places but prefer to get involved in a project, sharing skills and meeting like minded people than travelling for travelIing sake.
    I have volunteered in the past as a woofer on various farms including one in Spain where I stayed for more than a year. I have also been a host to volunteers ( woofers, helpx and workaways).
    I am from North Wales but have moved around various parts of Britain and lived in Andalucia for 12 years where I had my own place. My smallholding was completely off grid with no road access. I shared it with my sister, my partner and volunteers from all over the world. We had over a hundred fruit trees,organic vegetable gardens and kept chickens and ducks. We lived in yurts which we made ourselves. We built a communal space with roundwood timber and earth bags. We renovated a small stone ruin with earth and lime, timber and a cork insulated tin roof.
    I am currently back in North Wales where I have been working a season as a cook and cleaner at an eco hostel and campsite. This is my fourth season here. Last year I worked as a vegan chef for a natural building company in Scotland. The team built a straw bale roundhouse. We all camped on site for the duration of the build. I catered for the team of 18 plus the family who commissioned the build.
    My friends would describe me as easy going, positive, resourceful ,pragmatic , conscientious, loyal, compassionate. They also say I am always hungry and am a winterphobe!
    I am comfortable around people from walks of life so long as there is mutual respect and some humour. I have worked with children in the past as a nanny and also as a support worker in child protection teams and domestic violence refuges.
    I'm ideally looking for an opportunity to be involved in a project or business that values people, the environment and sustainability.
    I would welcome the opportunity to learn new skills especially creative / artistic. I have recently started practising yoga after many years neglecting practice. I would love to practice regularly with an experienced yoga teacher.
    I am an experienced cook and am happy to help with food preparation.
    I like animals especially dogs.
    I enjoy walking, swimming in warm climates and photography. I love music but am not a musician, I'm more of a dancer!
    This winter I travelled to Turkey where I volunteered as a gardener at a retreat. I cleared water irrigation channels, and other winter land work. I went from there to workaway near in Gocek where I helped look after rare breed chickens. I travelled to Rhodes and made my way to Corfu where I volunteered at a yoga retreat,mostly helping in the garden and kitchen.
    Since knockdown restrictions were lifted in July I have been travelling in France supporting a friend who took part in a mountain bike event over 2 weeks. Whilst there I was offered a job that I had previously applied for in Greece. I then spent 2 months on Kos working at a yoga retreat hotel as a general assistant, kitchen, serving meals, reception and house keeping .
    I am now based in Chester with my brother and have been looking for paid work which is proving difficult in the current climate. I'm therefore looking for interesting workaway opportunities where I can use my experiences to help out and am also keen to learn new skills particular in arts and crafts.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  


    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Cooking for groups
    Cleaning to a high standard
    Help with building, decorating
    Customer service skills
    Help with yurt making
    Some basic wood work and eco building experience
    Animal care

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter


  • Was noch ...

    I would prefer not to share room.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung