Kate & Sam

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Australien, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Neuseeland, Singapore, South Korea, Vietnam

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    07.03.2018 - 07.03.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! We are Kate and Sam. We are a well established couple (going strong for 3.5 years now) who call Nottingham in the UK home. We have embarked on a year long adventure and are looking to get more out of our trip than the usual tourist traps and bars. We want to experience the true culture of the places we visit. We want to live in these places and get a feel for what it means to the wonderful people that call these places home.
    A little about us, we're 28. I (Sam) am a mechanical engineer, with most of my experience coming from gearbox design for all sorts of vehicles. Kate has recently completed a PhD in chemistry focusing on nanotubes and their applications. We have a range of skills we can provide and are both quick studies, ready and willing to pitch in and pick up new skills along the way from anyone who is willing to teach them. No challenge will go unaccepted :).

    To date, we have done four amazing Workaway's which have given us a good insight into how this process works whilst allowing us to pick up a lot of new skills. These are:

    Two weeks at a Buddhist ashram in Perth, Australia with tasks consisting of cleaning, grounds maintenance and cooking for large numbers of people.

    Six weeks at a unique project in Jumunjin, South Korea where the aim is to create a quirky hostel and pub purely from recycled and donated materials, as to draw attention to the amount of waste that goes on. We were essentially given free reign here to do what we thought would help the project. I (Sam) took to doing design and construction projects with pallet wood and other donated materials whilst Kate focused mainly on artistic projects. A few photos of our creations have been included on our profile.

    Three weeks at a mountain resort in Nagano prefecture, Japan. Tasks here ranged from general maintenance of numerous properties to renovation of newly purchased properties. There was also some heavy involvement writing articles and blog posts promoting the resort. Additional tasks included garden maintenance, wood splitting, demolition and some involvement in a 'language cafe'.

    Four weeks at a ranch/farm in Hokkaido, Japan. Our primary role here was to care for the wide array of farm animals that are present on the farm and to train and ride their horses in preparation for trail riding over winter. Animals present on the farm included: goats, sheep, ponies, horses, alpacas, rabbits, ducks, an ostrich, dogs and a turkey. Horse training involved lunging, desensitisation, respect and gradual exposure to human weight and saddles. Additional tasks at this Workaway included: general farm maintenance, landscaping using heavy machinery and enclosure preparation.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    A difficult question to answer when you're staring at a blank box! Between us, we can provide the following major skills. That being said, we are very keen to expand this list and we are quick studies, so please don't discount us if the skill you need isn't on this list. We're happy to learn on the job!
    Cooking, cleaning, decorating, woodworking, interpersonal skills, manual labour, driving, garden maintenance, computer literacy, documentation writing, basic animal care, watercolor/acrylic painting, stenciling, project management, teaching/training experience, basic wilderness survival, problem solving, experience with childcare, housekeeping, customer care experience. And of course, engineering and chemistry.

    As well as the core skill stuff listed above, we have a range of skills born from hobbies (should they be of interest to you!):
    scuba diving, horse riding, rock climbing, drumming, skiing, snowboarding, hiking/mountaineering, yoga.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Alter

    29 & 29

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    We'd be more than willing to have a chat with you to see if we'd be good fit to help out with your projects. Skype, Whatsapp, Facebook, Workaway, just let us know and we'll set something up!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Usually vegetarian

Fotos

Feedback