Peter & Elaine

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.04.2021 - 31.10.2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    209

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen


    Currently near Cullompton, Devon.
    Interested in growing veg, looking after animals and general maintenance.

  • Beschreibung

    8 years ago now, we decided to escape from the conventional life of endlessly working to buy a nice house and car and lifestyle that we realised we didn't really want anyway. We sold our house and nearly all our possessions and decided to go travelling in a motorhome (It was supposed to be a sailing yacht, but that's another story).
    We've spent the last few years driving around quite a bit of Europe and beyond. We’ve been as far East as the Black Sea, as far South as The Sahara in Morocco and last year we made it to the north of Poland for a swim in the Baltic. To say this experience has broadened our horizons is an understatement! It has been interesting; challenging at times, and left us hungry for more. We do however feel that we often struggle to understand the local way of life and have little opportunity to get to know anyone. Joining Workaway has much improved this and we have enjoyed the endless and varied opportunities it can provide. We’ve done painting, stone wall pointing, bathroom rebuilding, bottle window building, mud plastering, established vegetable gardens, looked after goats, chickens, donkeys and cats. We've helped to build a ‘Super-Adobe’ house, planted and harvested for an organic veg box scheme, tried and attempted to cook a variety of new recipes, built compost loos and solar showers and even attempted to learn some French with some Belgians in Portugal. Unfortunately languages are not our strong point. We’ve also spent some time as campsite wardens and house-sitters.
    We are probably on the introvert end of the spectrum. We like a meal and a chat with a small number of people rather than a noisy party. We are happier in the natural world than in the city. Peter has skills in many aspects of the building trade and is happy with a paint-brush in his hand. Elaine has recently been rediscovering her love of gardening and vegetable growing. Neither of us are as fit and agile as we'd like to be but hopefully maturity and sincerity make up for that. We are particularly interested in learning more about permaculture and natural building techniques.
    There are so many cultures and people we haven't met, experiences we haven't had... let's bring it on!
    (But then came Covid! We don't expect to travel far this year and will likely restrict ourselves to South West England. We're particularly interested in anybody with a nice spot to park our motorhome. At the moment we have a car too to get about.)

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Segeln / Boote
    Wassersport
    Radfahren
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Kochen & Backen
    Politik & Soziales
    Gärtnern
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Building maintenance - cleaning, painting, general maintenance, use of power tools, some plumbing, electrics. Administration and customer care. Gardening / vegetable growing. Limited animal care. Driving. ..and of course maturity, responsibility and a willingness to learn new things.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    52 & 53

  • Was noch ...

    Our motorhome is 3.5t weight. It is just over 6m long, 2.4m wide and 3m high. We will need a safe and level place to park it when we are visiting you and obviously your access road needs to be suitable. Dependent on circumstances we are often happy to stay in it.
    If you have concerns / queries about this, please ask.
    Edit: We now have a car too and maybe able to park the motorhome elsewhere temporarily?

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Some pollen (hayfever). Bee stings.

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Feedback