Mike

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    Construction, refurbishment, subsistence farming, meeting new people

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Département de l'Aude, France - von Sep 2022 bis Dez 2024
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    A 49yr old construction engineer looking to help others.

    My desire is to find a location in France that I feel I would like to settle in, however the timescale is unclear so Im going where the interest takes me, or where people need the specialist help I can offer. Due to my very wide ranging interests, the mountains have a calling for me so for 2023 I'm hoping to vist hosts in the Aude department - Carcausson, Quillan, Perpignan areas so i can understand the topograhy more and general climate, plus do some property research.

    I thrive on variety, working in different locations and settings and meeting new people. Helping others and working with others in a shared goal. I love building and creating things and being proud of my work. Top quality workmanship, design and installation has always been the key focus in whatever I have accomplished and I really enjoy this target level of finish - seeing a project through from design to completion using new or high grade reclaimed / reused / repurposed materials. This isn't what's always required or requested by clients, so I am adaptable to output tasks quickly if needed using lower grades of materials and supplies.

    I'm an experienced professional however now personal financial goals are not my focus.

    I love nature and animals, also cooking & entertaining. I do enjoy the thrill of adrenaline and excitement (love skydiving!), dancing under the stars and feeling free. I teach snowboarding, play guitar, have my own DJ Traktor mixing set up to enjoy playing house music to others, and riding my Kawasaki ZZR1100 motorcycle I have with me in France and Im looking to buy an off-road dirt bike to continue my love of this sport too.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wintersport
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Architektur
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Musik
    Kochen & Backen
    Events & Sozialleben
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have a wide range of construction experience - integrating various renewable energy systems within high-end and large scale domestic construction and refurbishment projects in and around London. Loft conversions, extensions, landscaping, kitchens and bathrooms and everything in between.

    I have extensive personal practical experience in property construction from the ground up, building my UK company from just myself and me moving into a more managerial role to develop new business. On site I’ve carried out every practical job and also managed each and every aspect of the project.

    I also have a keen interest in cars and motorbikes and am a qualified welder, body worker and paint finisher.

    I grew up on a small holding in North East England (although Scottish by birth) so have experience of animals (sheep, chickens, geese) and other domestic animals. I love gardening with the rose being my favourite flower, closely followed by the fuchsia. I enjoy the reward of harvest after the careful plant management of subsistence farming.

    I also really enjoy cooking and expanding my repertoire and learning to cook new dishes and cuisines.

    At 30 I also completed an indoor snow-board teaching course and have trained several previous colleagues privately (testimonials available).

    My old company's facebook page is still live for your perusal at https://www.facebook.com/homemadenergy but it is not trading anymore as I now live in France. I have thousands of pictures of various works should you so desire to see them!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    I wish to be fluent in French

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    49

  • Was noch ...

    Workaway has been great for me and my cat Joe-Joe I brought from England in 2020 and the reason I came to France originally was to start life again after divorce and being forced to sell my beautiful house I built that was in a lovely location. After meeting a new partner and her untimely passing due to brain cancer in early 2020 - just as Covid took hold, plus a business downturn - I deciding to sell everything and try something new and exciting. So I started with an English family in 86330, moving to a French family in 36500, then 86290 and now 16300. I have my carte sejour and I'm fully integrated into the French tax and health system.

    I have set up a French construction business www.sd-mp.fr and i offer decennial insurance against any paid work. My personal and home effects from the UK will be stored in Buzancais 36500 until a suitable time for change in the future. I have worked for several other people in Indre department (English, Dutch, French) and as well as testimonials here on Workaway, I also have many more related to paid construction work on my own website above, and its' facebook and google pages too.

    I have a lot of construction equipment with me covering every trade discipline, and having invested in a large French registered 4x4 and an enclosed vehicle trailer/car transporter, this enables me to move around France with my tools and equipment needed. This is a huge benefit to potential hosts as I already have all the equipment with me to do the work. I have also set up a side-line business doing car transportation, however this has to be put on hold until the correct qualifications can be obtained for it to be legal. Its website is still visible though at www.vrtransport.fr to understand the size of the vehicles I have, but it is not marketed.

    So I do have some ongoing monthly costs to cover, which i do need to earn a little bit of money for. I realise this is not the normal workaway concept but I am far from the normal workaway traveller! How it has worked out well with others is working the standard workaway hours and what is left I earn from other people needing help in the local community, fully decennial insured and through my SIRET number.

    I remain wishing to help others, helping people create their dreams, teaching my construction skills and meeting interesting people along the way- who will I am sure help work out my future path and location. I wish to learn more about this fabulous country.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Nothing but Hayfever but i medicate against that

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback