Liam

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I was born in Scotland but spent the Summers at my uncle's farm in West Ireland which inspired a love of nature for the rest of my life. I have travelled through many countries over the years using the Workaway and WOOF networks - and have found them to be the most culturally enriching way to learn about different peoples and places.

    After graduating from the Centre of Alternative Technology (CAT), I set up two social enterprises in the UK. One was a food-growing co-operative in Wales where we experimented with High Intensity Farming techniques to produce large yields in small footprints. The other one worked with several London boroughs to solve environmental problems; such as street flooding, school food production, healthy eating and educating residents how to recycle food waste.

    I am now aiming to build a Tiny House and become self-sufficient in energy, water and food, as I see this as the only realistic template for the majority of future generations as resources become scarcer. However, I still have to acquire more skills to do this. My Workaway experiences are helping me to explore potential countries/locations/micro-climates for building such a house!

    I have a lifelong interest in learning new skills as well as different approaches to life. Sometimes I may be able to bring new input and fresh ideas to enhance your place, on other occasions you will probably be teaching me many new skills. I can adjust flexibly to tasks that you require and work unsupervised once shown what to do.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Sprachpraxis

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Cows, Poultry, Pigs, Gardening (weeding, planting, weed eating, machete work, etc), Fruit Picking, Seed saving, Cider Making, Scything, Compost toilet making, Straw-bale building, Rainwater Harvesting, Deer Fencing, Log splitting, Wood stacking, Coppicing, Admin, Marketing & Publicity, Websites, Social Media, IT fixes, Cooking, Baking, Enthusiasm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    48

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    High Intensity Growing, Market Gardening, Permaculture, Aquaponics, Vermiculture, Forest Gardening, Composting, Beekeeping, Weed whacking, Pressure Hosing. I am a big fan of the Tiny House movement in the USA with a special interest in alternative building techniques and off-grid technologies - I have seen many original approaches to these solutions and am interested in seeing more.

    Love of nature and walks and great interest in old rural architecture and craftmanship. Online product/services marketing skills. Extensive knowledge of film and music and I can cook a wide range of international cuisine as well as bake cakes and cookies that will make your mouth water. Good conversationalist.

    Last year I completed an internship on tropical horticulture at an arboretum on Maui, Hawaii and also designed and implemented a rich grass feed cattle shelter that fuelled a methane digester on a large cattle ranch in Mexico.

    In Spain I participated in almond and olive production and did a lot of Forest Gardening and Permaculture, as well as tidying up lots of wild gardens. In Portugal I have completely restored an abandoned orange grove to full health and created a more productive method for harvesting sweet chesnuts during the Autumn. I look forward to more experiences in different regions of Portugal in 2020.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      NO

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      NO

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback