Laura

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    China, Japan, Kambodscha, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.04.2019 - 31.12.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hi there!
    My name is Laura, I am a 22 year old female from Glasgow, Scotland. I love being creative and connecting with people of all ages, nationalities and circumstances, sharing with them experiences and knowledge and hopefully having a positive impact on the people and places I encounter.
    My creative drive led me to study an honours degree in Fine Art at Duncan of Jordanstone college of art and design in Dundee. There, I learned to think openly about the world around me and to collaborate with others, communicating complex ideas in creative and exciting ways. Through my studies, I found that I most enjoy projects that involve community engagement and being inspired by other people and their lives. This in turn has given me a desire to travel and to experience cultures different from my own, hopefully working in a teaching or community based capacity.
    One of the community based projects I participated in was an art project called Pride of Paisley. This was based in my home town of Paisley where I was commissioned to design a sculpture for a public art trail. The sculpture that I designed was a lion, the body of which was decorated with a contemporary take on the famous Paisley pattern. In addition to designing the body of the lion sculpture I also added a further element - sound! Speakers were installed in the artwork and I interview over 50 locals of all ages and backgrounds to create a discussion about the impact of art in the community. My favourite part of this project was the interviews. I loved working with the many diverse individuals that agreed to help me. Their thoughts and ideas inspired me greatly and made me consider my project and my home in a whole new way.
    Furthermore, I have been involved in a couple of international projects which have made my passion for travel very strong. Firstly, in 2013 I was selected to be one of 20 students from my secondary school who travelled to Morocco to assist with the building of a community garden and teaching English to young children in a rural school in the High Atlas mountains. Then secondly, I was selected to be one of three students from my University to travel to Venice, Italy for one month in the summer of 2017. In Venice I worked as an exhibition assistant in an art gallery and helped visitors to better understand and engage with the artwork. My experience in Morocco showed me how much I loved teaching and confirmed for me that this is something I definitely want to pursue in my future. Venice instilled in me a passion and an understanding of the importance of learning another language. I now wish to take what I've learned from these experiences and apply that to a project where I could both teach English and possibly learn a new language myself!
    I love working with children! I think their thoughts and opinions can be the most honest and inspiring. I myself am the eldest of five kids and so I am very used to taking care of little ones! I have also grown up with dogs, cats and horses so would be more than happy to care for any pets / livestock as well as any housework or cooking.
    I actually love to cook! This is another reason I love to travel - to discover new flavours and techniques that I can use in my own meals :)
    I also enjoy swimming, running, cycling, painting and listening to all kinds of music!
    Before leaving Scotland, I worked as an events assistant for Tatha Bar and Kitchen at the V&A Museum of Design in Dundee. I enjoyed my job very much, however, I have a much stronger interest in teaching and working creatively.

    I have been in South East Asia since April and have already experienced some fantastic workaways! First, I taught English at a small school in Hanoi for children aged 2 - 14 for almost three months, then after travelling from Hanoi to HCMC to Cambodia I volunteered at a cat rescue centre in Siem Reap and then at a school in Phnom Penh. I have loved all of these experiences!

    If you think I would make a good addition to your home / project please don't hesitate to send me a message!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    First Aid Qualified
    Will be starting my TEFL course on 22nd November 2018
    BAHons Fine Art 2:1
    Good listener
    Fast learner
    Open minded
    Practical
    Punctual
    Well spoken
    Can cook
    Independant
    Adaptable
    Confident
    Positive outlook
    Can take care of children
    Can take care of pets
    Dedicated
    IT skills
    Creative

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, conversational Italian

  • Alter

    22

  • Nationalität

    Scottish

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Profil ist verbunden mit:

StaceyPover


Feedback