Lottie

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Neuseeland

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    24.10.2019 - 31.01.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hello!!
    I'm Lottie, lovely to meet you!
    A little about me...
    What you see is pretty much what you get with me, I don't see the point of not being your weird and wonderful self. I'm easy going, open-minded and friendly, and I laugh a lot! I like to be busy and rarely sit still. I love to cook, especially for others, and my idea of relaxation is being outside, having a beer, and chatting with interesting people about anything and everything. I work hard, I'm independent and self sufficient, practical and motivated, and enjoy being outside in any weather and around people of all ages, including young children. I spent the last year in the UK living in a converted bus, and have spent more than enough time living off-grid to understand how to not waste power, water, etc - I'm very much used to not having creature comforts! I am interested in keeping fit and eating healthily - I practice yoga, do quite a bit of weight training and I eat a LOT of vegetables! I would love to meet people that could introduce me to some more outdoor sports and activities. I am interested in spirituality and energies, and probably talk about my womb too much...!
    I have worked very hard and been lucky enough to travel a lot, and have been to quite a few countries in Europe, to South and Central America in 2010, and to India in 2014, 2017, and 2018. Travel, for me, is a chance to take a step back, re-assess, reevaluate, and to meet people with new perspectives and new ideas. I am looking to travel slowly and really get to know people and places. I hope to keep exploring and discovering new locations and cultures and learning and evolving in the process - I'm all about good vibes and no regrets!
    A bit about what I do...
    In 2013 I graduated from the University of Liverpool with a degree in Oceans, Climate and Physical Geography, which I absolutely loved, but when by the end of the course I had decided that the inside office life was not for me, and that I needed to be active and outside. I started to focus on ecobuilds and alternative living, and spent 4 months in France and Spain travelling and working on several different eco projects and smallholdings. In the summer of 2014 I got a place on an EU funded Drystone Walling and Natural Building internship in Mallorca, Spain, and worked with master stonemasons and other interns of a couple of projects, including the restoration of a 16th century manor house, and a traditional lime kiln. After the internship I travelled through Spain for another couple of months working and developing my knowledge and understanding of building techniques and permaculture, before returning to the UK, where I ran a coffee shop for a year. For the last 4.5 years I’ve been working for a small independent construction company in the UK that specialises in period property restoration. We work on a wide variety of projects all around the east of England, from thatched properties, to wattle and daub cottages to Tudor farmhouses. On these projects I complete painting and decorating work, traditional lime plastering and basic carpentry, along with general building tasks. As part of my work for this company we also restore old buildings using Hempcrete - a mix of lime binder and hemp shiv that replaces wattle and daub, that can either be placed by hand or sprayed using a machine. This summer (2019) I completed a Heritage Lottery funded medieval timber framing course, in partnership with a local social enterprise that aims to keep traditional crafts alive. No power tools were used during the course, we felled and milled the trees by hand (with much sweat and many a blister!) and turned them into jointed joists and beams.
    Where am I now?
    I’m currently in the North Island taking each day as it comes, and attempting to actually stand on a surfboard!
    Looking forward to meeting you 🌞

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have spent the last 4.5 years working for a period property and hempcrete construction company in the UK, and have picked up a variety of general building skills through this. I am a painter and decorator, and can do traditional lime plastering, with some experience in earthen plastering. I can use power tools, hand tools, and have experience with heavier machinery such as chainsaws and farm vehicles/trucks. I have done forestry work, and worked on farms and smallholdings before, so I am also used to being around animals and livestock. My fingers are a little bit green and I have experience with permaculture principles and gardening. I have been part of projects using a variety of ecobuild techniques, including cob, earthbag domes, adobe bricks, timber framing, traditional woodworking, and stone masonry. I have a car, a full clean UK drivers license, a converted NZ license, and am used to driving everything from smaller cars to 4WDs to trucks. I am always keen to learn new skills and teach people about what I know, and I really want to enjoy my time spent with you!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    29

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Mostly vegan with vegetarian tendencies

Fotos

Going for a quick dip!
Drystone walling in Mallorca
At the end of hempcreting an ecohouse in Suffolk
Motorbiking through the Himalayas with my sister in 2019
Setting sail in the early morning
Golden Temple, Amritsar, India

Feedback