Kayla

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Freunde (3)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    I love to do all things outdoors! I enjoy hiking, archery, kayaking, zip lining and camping. As for city stuff, museums, drum circles, cemeteries, anything the area is known for is cool with me!

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    San Antonio, TX, United States
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    My soul is naturally curious, compassionate and playful. I want to learn and experience new people, cultures, and skills. I am not idle whatsoever in mind, body or spirit. I am a quick learner and a hard worker. Please give me labor tasks! I love to move my body as I practice yoga and Pilates daily. Nutrition and wellness also mean a great deal to me, along with discovering the natural world. I am an avid hiker and feel home when among the trees. I also love to read, which leaves my space littered with books. Lastly, I do not give up easily. This is a blessing and a curse.. but it means I do what I have to do, BUT I do it with a smile! I am simply a human, making my way to health and happiness and I just want to help others make their way to those as well. If I can teach people how to become more environmentally sustainable along the way, even better!!!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Darstellende Künste
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Film & Fernsehen
    Fotografie

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    In my opinion, there are two sides to an individual; who we are at the core and who we think we have to be in order to succeed in society.

    What I am personally skilled & interested in: I like to create environmentally sustainable products. I make my own hand sanitizer, laundry detergent, sun screen, bug spray and toothpaste. These recipes are free from chemicals that are harmful to you and the environment and I would love to share this knowledge with you. I also LOVE to cook. Now, I do not cook the typical American clog-your-heart and give-you-diabetes type meals. If you are interested in sampling and learning how to cook healthy meals that taste great without sugar, dairy or wheat, I am your girl! If not, I still have no problem cooking your meals. I make my own veggie broth, soy(less) sauce, ketchup, barbecue sauce and more. It's fun and empowering to make your own food. Lastly, if you need an exercise buddy, I am right here for you. I enjoy encouraging positive and active lifestyles. I usually get my steps in on a path in the woods. Hiking is a trail my Happy Place. Other than that, I do yoga and Pilates regularly.

    Skills that make me a select worker in society: Communication/outreach, personable/collaborative, organization/logistics and open-minded/willingness to work.

    While I enjoy independent tasks, I thrive in a group dynamic. I love camaraderie and the flow of a well-functioning team. As long as there is open communication and respect, any disagreement can be solved. I have no qualms when it comes to interacting with others. I love to learn people's stories, interests, thoughts, feelings, etc.. As a Conservation and Experiential Programming/Recreation Aide for the Forest Preserves of Cook County (Illinois), it was my duty to help create and facilitate environmental education and outdoor recreation activities, programs and/or events for school groups, summer camps and the general public. We held an array of programs pertaining to guided hikes, native and non-native plants, animals, pollinators, restoration work, archery, canoeing, kayaking, camping, fire building, orienteering, wood working, shelter building, nature play, sustainable do-it-yourself activities and much much more. Through this job, I became a Certified Interpretive Guide, which means I went through a training program that taught me how to better develop and deliver programming to meet the needs of my audiences. I also served as an outreach member for my team. This entailed calling potential partners to coordinate events and tabling at public events to promote Forest Preserve offerings, such as campgrounds, teen summer employment opportunities and public programming.


    I have taken the leadership role in many instances in my life. I was president of the Environmental Club at my community college and co-president of the Geography Club at Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC). Through these positions, I was able to build skills planning and leading team meetings, allocating responsibilities to members and coordinating with community partners and organizations to host campus events. I was also a Resident Assistant for the Going Green Living Learning Community/dormitory floor while at SIUC. This held me accountable to provide a fun and safe environment for my fellow residents through planning events for the floor, but also through reporting any rule-breaking.


    I have devoted many hours of service to others and my community. I received the Environmental Ambassador Award from SIUC, which required 30 hours of environmental stewardship work during the school year. I was also a Council Member for the SIUC Chapter of Gamma Beta Phi National Honors Society. We coordinated community volunteer projects, while assigned to complete 20 hours of service a semester. Even though I prefer to volunteer my service to nature, I am eager to learn new skills through diverse opportunities.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    30

  • Was noch ...

    USA Archery: Level 1 Instructor certified
    National Association for Interpretation: Certified Interpretive Guide
    National Safety Council: 1st Aide CPR certified
    Forest Preserves of Cook County: Reflecting on Practice training

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      I try to be sugar, dairy and wheat-free. Processed and packaged foods are usually avoided.

Feedback

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback