Jon-Paul

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien, Irland

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.09.2019 - 01.04.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    I am an environmental science Bsc graduate, looking for some extra expiereince in permaculture projects as my design certificate course has been cancelled.

    I have a deep passion for the preservation and restoration of nature and hope to re-bridge the gap our species has built between us and it. I have a great interest in working on wastewater systems and alternative waste disposal methods!
    As well as Agroforestry and sustainable communites in the British Isles as I hope to start my own project here soon!

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich: 

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden 

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have an environmental science degree and will soon be doing a postgrad research degree at Durham university. Therefore have a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary knowledge regarding the preservation and maintenance of ecosystems, conservation, and the sociotechnical/economic factors surrounding them. My key skills include an aptitude for visual presentations and communication of knowledge, and the ability to work effectively in small groups. I can also prioritise tasks and effectively organise my personal schedule.

    I have spent 7 months doing workaways on permaculture, earthworks and energy based eco-projects in Costa Rica and Peru, as well as working a couple of weeks working on an organic farm in Spain. im slowly accumulating knowledge with the hopes of finally getting my PDC later this year.
    I have previously compiled a report for the Felbeck trust and North East Norfolk Bird Club regarding the seasonal abundance of Hawfinches using historical accounts and data. I then highlighted possible measures for their conservation by creating a required list of tree species to cater to their needs for breeding, foraging and roosting to guide the creation of suitable habitat. I am a fast learner with a scientific mindset and can, therefore, acquire local knowledge and use it to solve ecological problems.

    I spent a month camping in Örebro County, Sweden. During which we fixed and upgraded trails, walkways and huts in various nature reserves and restored natural habitat features throughout the county’s rivers. It was essential to be a punctual and reliable team player to ensure restoration projects were completed on time and to a suitable standard. Camping, traversing and manually working on difficult terrain were other key skills needed to complete river restoration projects on time.

    I have also climbed mountains and gorges in some of the reserves such as the Zugspitze and Alpspitze in Germany and Angels Landing in Utah, which require good levels of physical fitness to complete. These visits to wild places compelled me to better appreciate the value of nature and the need to conserve and understand it.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Alter

    23

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    In my spare time, I usually exercise and practice Yoga as this helps me remain focused on during the day and relieve myself of stress. I have been practising various styles of yoga for about 1 year now such as Hatha, Vinyasa Flow and Sivananda.

    My main goal for this trip is to apply my knowledge and learn as much as I can about permaculture, nutrient cycling and conservation and rewilding in practice. As I hope to create an off-grid carbon nuetral self sufficient community one day!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Penicillin

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegan - (if available)

Fotos

Feedback