aus: Deutschland

  • ...

    Konto Typ


  • ...


    Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Spanien

  • ...


    03.04.2017 - 31.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hello, my name is John, I am 65, and fit, and I am looking to spend a lot of time in France, as I am thinking about buying a house and moving here, so I want to get some experience of living in France to see if it suits me. The one fly in the ointment is that I speak very little French, but am willing to learn. I have been to France more than a few times on extended holidays and last year I spent 4 months in France.
    I don’t smoke, nor do I drink which helps my dry sense of humour.
    I am currently travelling alone in my van and used to live in the vicinity of the biggest chemical works in Europe and would like to breath cleaner air.
    I am looking to get involved in rural projects with communities or households. What I find interesting are eco projects and energy-saving and/or producing energy/ off-grid, but am open to suggestions.
    I have been living in German for the last 11 years, doing building work and decorating. The type of work that I have done is, Block Paving, Running cables and fitting Lights and switches (sparkies labourer), Gyproc sheeting, Insulating, Laminate flooring, Bricklaying, and general labouring, (although I try to avoid heavy work these days, 30kgs max). With Workaway; Painting and tiling a swimming pool, tiling a patio, straw bale insulation, making a bench and bookcase, cutting firewood, repairing cars, fitting a kitchen, making a sign, painting inside a house and joint taping, making wooden steps for a staircase, repairing out-houses and fences, installing a wood-burning stove, damp course injection to walls, construct a soak-away, and open a locked antique treasure chest and repair it.
    I do NOT want to do housework, cleaning, cooking. The other items that I have not checked on the list e.g. dog walking. childcare I don't mind doing but it is not what I am looking for primarily.
    I am time served Painter and Decorator and signwriter, have been self-employed since I was 19 and in the UK ran my own Sign firm for over 20 years before moving to Germany. I travel in my van and have a selection of hand tools.
    My hobbies include Saxophone, Motorcycle Mechanics, Hill Walking, Camping. I plan to spend the rest of the week, improving my saxophone skills (which could be noisy and irritating, 2 Hr per day), reading and sunbathing and if possible earning some extra money, in that order of priority. I am registered self-employed in Germany and can provide a bonafide receipt with my German tax number.
    Please note that I am learning to play the Saxophone and I practice for 2 hours a day, I prefer to practice outdoors if the weather is good, so please be sure this is compatible with your situation.
    Short jobs are no problem, but for long-term positions, I would like to work for a week or two before I commit to a longer period. Annie Wilkes need not apply.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Painting and Wallpapering, Signwriting and sign making. Good woodworking skills, Car and Motorcycle Mechanics. Computer Graphics.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German

  • Alter


  • Nationalität


  • Was noch ...

    Short jobs are no problem, but for long term positions, I would like to work for a week or two before i commit to a longer period.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Making a Profit.

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Profil ist verbunden mit: