Julia & Corey

aus: Guernsey

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Frankreich, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    12.01.2020 - 12.01.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    We are a couple (both 28) from the little island of Guernsey, traveling Europe in our self-built camper van named Bertie. We have no time constraints for this trip and hope to use Workaway opportunities to develop new skills and meet new people.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I (Julia) am a primary school teacher and have taught in primary schools across England and Guernsey for over 6 years. Of course I love children and it would be great to find a Workaway where I can spend some time helping them in either an educational or domestic scenario. My educational ethos is child-led and experiential. I love cooking, crafts (crochet in particular even if I’m not great at it!), the great outdoors, yoga, running, bird watching and the environment.

    I studied French A level and absolutely love France and the language but sadly I’m not as good as I used to be! I have a French pen pal to improve and practice my written French but I would love to practice with French speaking people in real life. Corey also knows basic French.

    Corey is a digital designer and has specialized in digital photographic retouching. His sport of choice is Brazilian jiu jitsu. He loves photography and video games (although this latter hobby is taking a break for this European tour!). He is good with computers too. We both love hiking and exploring on foot or by bicycle.

    We bought our Renault Master van in January 2019 and spent a year converting it into our home on wheels, alongside working full-time. We did get help from Corey’s dad who knew where to start, but we have learnt a great deal! Tiling, insulating, carpentry, painting etc We are comfortable using power tools and I particularly like designing and thinking about style and function.

    We enjoy gardening; I grow rhubarb, beans and raspberries at home plus tomatoes in my little greenhouse. I am quite the amateur though so would love to learn better, more technical gardening skills. We enjoy working outdoors though so weeding and clearing, trimming and pruning etc are all good jobs for us. We are also interested in eco-building; although we have not done anything of the sort before we are keen to learn.

    Although we are traveling in a diesel van which is not the most sustainable mode of transport, in our campervan build we tried to reuse wood from old pieces of furniture and buy second hand wherever possible. We have been living as plastic-free/zero waste as possible for over a year now. We are also vegetarian (Corey will eat meat sometimes).

    We our self-sufficient in our campervan with solar panels for powering our lights and a small cooler. We have a compost loo and gas cooker. We would be happy to stay in our campervan, or within Workaway accommodation- whichever the host would prefer. The only thing we ask for is access to a shower and maybe to do the odd clothes wash!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    29 & 29

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian

Fotos

Feedback