Steve

  • Spanien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (1)

Freunde (90)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    I'm on the Spain/Portugal border but frequently travel in my caravan to the hidden spots of Iberia. Come join me to find the road less traveled!

  • Beschreibung

    Calling all travel buddies! Who would like to travel by caravan to hidden Spain & Portugal (and possibly other parts of Europe)?


    ********************************************************************************
    "Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not."
    ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    As a Workawayer, I'm mostly looking for travel buddies. I also host (profile name Steven Hunter) because I rent a house in a beautiful mountainous part of Western Spain (there I'm mainly seeking native Spanish speakers to help teach me Spanish by immersion). I am a semi-retired scientist. That is, I work online (editing and translation of scientific manuscripts; I determine my schedule). Thus, good meals and a feeling of belonging/contribution are more important than the money at this point of my life.

    I am a native English speaker and speak intermediate Spanish. I have practiced meditation since the early 1990s. I have lived in Andalusia (Spain) for six years, Extremadura for two years, and Portugal for one year. Because I love both countries, I live near their border and travel primarily between the two.

    I have two friendly dogs (a Beagle and Podenco) that travel with me. I am very attached to them and currently am renting a rural house in a small village in the mountainous region of Las Hurdes (Caceres Province). I have opened my home many times as a host via Couchsurfing.com (see link to my profile below).

    A couple of homemade music videos using my travel photos in Spain and Portugal:
    https://youtu.be/25kcLw4h2cE
    https://youtu.be/hIuQpBaXOwQ

    My normal destinations are within Iberia, but I'm dreaming of a longer trip through France, with Scandinavia as a final destination. For this, I especially welcome those traveling with their own van and French speakers.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Como Workawayer, principalmente busco compañeros de viaje. También soy anfitrión de (nombre de perfil Steven Hunter) porque alquilo una casa en una hermosa parte montañosa del oeste de España. Soy un científico semi-jubilado. Es decir, trabajo online (edición y traducción de manuscritos científicos; yo determino mi horario). Por lo tanto, las buenas comidas y el sentimiento de pertenencia / contribución son más importantes que el dinero en este momento de mi vida.

    Soy un hablante nativo de inglés y hablo español intermedio. He practicado la meditación desde principios de los noventa. He vivido en Andalucía (España) durante seis años, Extremadura durante dos años y Portugal durante un año. Como amo a ambos países, vivo cerca de su frontera y viajo principalmente entre los dos.

    Tengo dos perros amistosos (un Beagle y un Podenco) que viajan conmigo. Les tengo mucho cariño y actualmente estoy alquilando una casa rural en una pequeña aldea de la serranía de Las Hurdes (Provincia de Cáceres). He abierto mi casa muchas veces como anfitrión a través de Couchsurfing.com (ver enlace a mi perfil a continuación).

  • Interessengebiete

    Strand
    Camping
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Geschichte
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Betreuung von Tieren

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Skills are briefly related above. Since I'm mostly looking for travel buddies rather than being a Workawayer, I'll just state what I provide:

    Travel via caravan to various locations, mostly in Portugal/Spain but other parts of Europe if COVID restrictions allow. This includes a separate bed. Not required, but sharing gas expenses would be appreciated if you're able. Help with managing my two dogs (walking, ensuring their safety) would also be a plus. Also sharing of shopping/cooking would be great.

    Other than that, hopefully you'll have fun and adventure!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Aunque traduzco manuscritos científicos ENG -> ESP y puedo hablar en un nivel intermedio, todavía necesito practicar la conversación con un hablante nativo de español por inmersión.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    58

  • Nationalität

    USA

  • Was noch ...

    My Couchsurfing profile including references (you need to have a [free] Couchsurfing account): https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/estebanico

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Trump supporters ;)

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback

Dieser Workawayer hat noch keine Bewertungen erhalten.