Elise

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Argentinien, Uruguay

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    Reisezeit flexibel

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    I left my job in 2013, and am now spending a lot of my time traveling. So far Workaway has been a handy resource that facilitates my desire to travel, and to participate in a deeper cultural exchange. I am interested, and potentially available, for Workaway gigs worldwide. Long-term stays are also a possibility, as I enjoy being able to take my time to really discover and explore new places, cultures, and friends.

    My primary (but not exclusive) interest is riding and working with horses. I would like to someday do long-distance horse trekking and potentially use horses as working animals, so I welcome any experience that will improve my riding, handling skills, and general horsemanship. I'd like to improve upon:

    (a) going faster - I am not confident or comfortable with this yet
    (b) trail riding, which I am comfortable with at slower speeds on average terrain
    (c) building up my riding endurance

    If a farm/host has horses, I would be most appreciative if I could do regular riding, or receive lessons. I am happy to do this on my free time, so it does not need to be included in the work required.

    Other areas of interest include:
    animal husbandry
    bee-keeping
    food production, including dairy works, gardening, cheese-making, and preservation
    self-sufficiency in general
    shearing and wool (I like to knit)
    fishing
    building and renovation projects (I like making furniture)
    tinkering with vehicles

    For me, variety of jobs is good. I enjoy physical activity and working with my hands. If I like what I'm doing, it's not really work.

    Previous farm experience with workaway and wwoof include working with horses (including Icelandics), dairy cows, sheep and lambs, bees, cheesemaking, a few pigs, loads of chickens, and all the general activities that center around those animals.

    I love reading, and read a lot in my free time. I'm okay being left on my own for long periods of time; I just use the time to read, study, or spend time outdoors. I'm a bit of an information junkie and like listening to podcasts and watching TED Talks.

    I'm interested in kayaking. I've done a little at home, and think it's terrific fun. I like taking nature walks and camping.

    I'm a bit of an introvert, and can sometimes be overwhelmed by extended social activity. While I enjoy social activities, it's also important that I get some alone and quiet time to recharge. I only mention this so it won't be mistaken for anti-social behavior.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I'm pretty good with tools and using my hands. I've spent a lot of time in woodshop and welding classes, making furniture for fun. I tend to be very good at detail work. I'm very happy to do building, renovation, and gardening work as long as someone can show me the ropes and get me started.
    I have some experience working with dairy cows and horses. I've helped out on one farm in lambing season and will never forget finding three new lambs in the middle of the night - I could see the mother's eyes shining at me, and suddenly saw six more little eyes. Past that, I'm eager to learn, as long as you are willing to teach. I'm willing to work hard, I don't mind getting dirty, and I like being outside, even in cold weather. In fact, I love cold weather.
    I'm able to work with others, or independently as required. I'm comfortable with solitude and spending long amounts of time in remote areas.
    I am flexible with work hours. I realize that every day can be different, and am willing to adjust accordingly.
    I can help if anyone wants to practice English.
    I can cook basic meals. Nothing fancy, but it will be edible. I haven't poisoned anyone so far. There are a few things I can't eat for health reasons (anything with nitrates), but I can usually easily avoid them without inconveniencing everyone else.
    Since I would be part of your household, I would of course contribute to household maintenance and cleaning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, intermediate German

  • Alter

    47

  • Nationalität

    USA

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback

Verschenke eine Workaway-Mitgliedschaft zu Weihnachten
mehr