Help us with restoration at our pole house and re-establish our garden in Tasmania.

Country

Australien

Bisher 92 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Kimbra and Volker, in our 50s with adult children in other parts of the world. Volker is adept at making bio-fuel, and we maintain a hydro generator to supply our house with electricity.We rely on wood fired heating and cooking , so firewood collection is always a priority. Kimbra is an eco-dyer, and will be offering workshops in this and other sustainable projects. In Summer accommodation is in either a converted mobile home/bus or camping and there is a shared kitchen space, gas facilities. We live on-site at the campground permanently during Summer. The campground project is ongoing, and marking out campsites, building the required facilities, track clearing, fire pits, etc etc. We are off-grid and surrounded by natural bushland in a valley setting with spectacular sandstone cliffs and a natural waterway supplying our water and recreation.We are in the the process of creating a wild place camping and visiting area.
    This includes a large garden space, outdoor baths, walking tracks, picnic areas, and campsites, with all the additional infrastructure-toilets, showers etc.
    April-September: As the cooler months kick in, we are returning to our house, and will need help on restoration projects inside and out, as the house and garden are in a state of neglect. Accommodation will be in the house or separate studio, depends on the current projects. There will be road maintenance, building demolition,fencing, garden work. And firewood... did I mention the firewood already?Our home is in a unique and special part of the world, and is isolated and quiet.
    We aim for a complete sustainable life, and have lived off-grid for over 30 years.We don't run any livestock, and have no immediate plans to in the future, but there is one friendly dog. Our property covers approximately 350 acres (141 Hectares) of mostly native bush with abundant wildlife and native birds. Our aim is to leave the land in better shape than when we arrived here, and with just 2 of us, we need help to realise this dream.
    *️Please note: We have limited access to internet, and phone reception is not consistent, so unless you can live without constant connectivity, think about this before you apply.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here you are in a natural wild area, where the Tasmanian bush and its ecosystem are at your fingertips. There is no light pollution, no neighbours, and a great way to escape from the pressure and struggle of the mundane and really live in the outdoors and experience Tasmania's nature. We never have large groups here, and even when there are others around, you will find it easy to locate quiet spots for contemplation and refreshing! We call it the RE-BOOT camp! Kimbra's natural dying process is another way you can learn new skills, and Volker has many skills to pass on too.You might learn to use tools and vehicles, or milling timber, or help to build a new cabin using materials completely sourced from the land right here! or help to create a tiny house….or learn about making bio-diesel, or get involved in an art project...lots of possibilities.
    Projects completed so far in 2017/2018: New bike stand, toilet re-build and re-paint, and relocate, log bridge hand rail rebuild, track clearing and maintenance, vegetation clearing, gate repair, and installation, fence and entrance re-design, road maintenance.Firewood collection, Truck refit (now our home!)Signs and bins painted.Campground maintenance.
    Projects underway: Shower/bath building, fire pots built, footbridge, garden works.
    Planned for the next few months: Complete underway projects above, design and paint murals, design and build outdoor wood fired oven. General maintenance.
    Completed 2018-19:
    Murals on market van, track clearing, new signs, two new campsites, netting over grow tunnels, hammock corner, eco dying, gardens,jam making,outdoor shower,safety cupboard mural,herb gardens/potted herbs.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    GARDEN: There is a large fenced area which needs fence repairs and then working the soil, weeding, clearing rocks, and planning and planting the garden- herbs, fruit, and flowers & some walls as wind protection, art installations and functional sitting places.
    FIRE PITS: Safe fire pits are needed in two separate camp areas, these will be shallow circular areas where campfires can be used. Also an outdoor wood fired pizza/bread oven is planned.
    FIREWOOD: At all times, firewood collection is part of the day-to-day operation, and needs constant re-stocking.
    TRACK CLEARING: Tracks for walking there are some tracks here, but they need maintaining and more to be built-to the base of the sandstone cliffs, and a circuit trail to the top block, and a riverside walk trail are all on the future plan.There is a swimming hole which needs its access track maintained through the Summer.
    HUT demolition: An old picker's hut is partially dismantled, and the job needs completion.
    PAINT OUR TRUCK: We have a design in mind, and need artistic folk who will paint our old International truck, and if that's not enough of a challenge there is also a caravan and a second van which needs mural-ising! Endless possibilities for the creatives among you!
    REPTILE GARDEN: We are planning to create a garden for the reptiles who share our space, making it possible for visitors to see and learn about the local mini beasts.
    We collect up all the old bits and pieces left from the former owners, and re-use and re-cycle wherever we can. We try not to create waste and always look for ways to repurpose old stuff, saving on expenses, and using our creativity to re-see items. So you can use your ingenuity and have some fun!
    SIGNAGE: If you like to do sign writing-we need some maps and signs for the various tracks and camping areas.
    GARDEN: We have a herb garden project under way with all that entails!
    BUILDING: April-September: help complete building related work on our pole house.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German, limited Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A converted mobile home/bus, tents available now for accommodation. We have several tents, these are the best option available in the summer months.
    April-September: room in house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Situated within the Derwent Valley a 40 minute drive/bus ride to Hobart city, 30 minutes to MONA, or access to the South-West wilderness, trout fishing waters, Mt Field National Park, spectacular forest and scenery abounds.There is a regular bus service, but you need your own transport to get to our place, although we can arrange to collect guests from the bus, we don't go out daily. The local town has a good range of shopping-pubs, petrol and food (large supermarket) also community garden for fresh produce.We are always busy on one or other project, we spend as much time on our property as possible, and prefer to keep our outside work to a minimum, Kimbra attends markets and festivals sometimes to sell her eco dyed items, this is not constant , usually 2 a month, on weekends, so this is a chance to go and see other places.( New Norfolk, Collinsvale, Woodbridge, Cygnet are all market destinations) We have limited wifi/ and phone reception, our satellite connection is not constant, and can drop out unexpectedly but if you need to connect it is possible in some areas of the property.It will depend on your carrier, and sometimes the weather, or the time of day. As we only use our internet for necessary stuff there is no movie download/surfing/games access in our world.We consider the REAL WORLD outside our window of much greater significance than who starred in what movie...there is no TV here either.We get reasonable radio reception, and devices can be charged at the cabin or the house.If you can't live without your mobile devices, this is probably not your ideal destination.We also suggest you have sturdy footwear, workboots or gumboots are good, work gloves for your hands too. We have some spare gear, but not a full range of sizes. If you are ready to experience outdoor life, and learn some new skills in a quiet remote space, with wildlife for company pack your wet weather gear, and a sense of adventure, and we are ready for you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week

mountain dragon laying eggs in the garden
volunteer with hairdressing skills
Wilma the van gets a mural
an all-French crew (and Shiro &Volker)
little frog in the garden
back filling drain
the canine mascot
handmade gift from Alexie
Autumn evening colour
Forest and cliffs on the property
Campfire chimney cook-up











Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 977433223181