Experience life in the bush near Kinglake NP, Victoria

Country

Australien

Bisher 10 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.12.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    51

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Belgian couple (whom migrated to Australia in 1998). We are both in our fifties. We speak Flemish, English and very basic French.
    We have built an energy efficient house, a vegetable garden enclosure, a greenhouse and eventually we will install an aquaponics system.
    We are aiming for a 80% self-sufficient lifestyle.
    The small farm is located in the hills North East of Melbourne near Kinglake NP. Very nice scenery, quiet and completely surrounded by bush. 45 km from Melbourne City. We can just see the Melbourne skyline when the viz is good. Nearest station is a 20 minutes drive by car.
    Lots of wildlife: Deer, kangaroos, wallabies, lizards, parrots, wombats, possums, etc.
    Off-the-grid PV system (9.5 kW with 15 kWh battery storage).
    We collect our own water (56000 litres storage) and it is the purest water you will ever find!
    Small animal farm (rabbits, chooks. Goats and pigs coming soon, etc). We grow our own fodder from germinated barley and wheat.
    We also got a lovely dog named Yoppo (A cross breed Kelpie, Border Collie).
    In 2016 our homestead was elected as the winner of the sustainable home award in our shire!


    Positions available from October 2017 onwards.
    Experience operating chainsaws and other powertools is a bonus but not essential. Must be honest, physically fit and willing to help/learn. Positions open to all.
    Hope to meet you soon!

    Personal info: Luc worked for more then three years in Antarctica (Two winters and three summers). Wintered at Casey and Mawson. Engineer (Robotics and Mechatronics). Works for the Bureau Of Meteorology.
    Katrien has recently retired and does lots of craft projects and is a great cook!
    We had a life full of travel as well and are happy to share experiences.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn more about living-off-the-grid and living in the bush.
    Fully equipped woodwork and metal working shop, car hoist available.
    We can also provide training in husbandry, self-sustainability, etc.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help includes (But not limited to) clearing trees, removing dead wood, maintenance of machinery, looking after lifestock, clearing weeds, helping out in kitchen (Just for preparing our own meals, nothing commercial), cleaning, meat preparation, making homebrew and preserves, etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accomodation is in a well insulated office space of the shed with own wood heater, small kitchen, shower and double bed. You are also welcome to join in for meals with us. The shed is 30 meter long, 12 meter wide and 6 meter high. Your accomodation is a room of 8 meter wide by 9 meter long.
    Unfortunately there's is no toilet facilties in your accomodation but you're welcome to use the toilet inside the house. We are planning to build an outhouse with bio-digester soon.
    We expect you to work around 25 hours per week. In return you will have free food, homebrew beer and accomodation and privacy. Very relaxed atmosphere and plenty of time to sit back and enjoy a break.
    Campervans, caravans also welcome; we've got plenty of flat space.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can pick you up from Hurstbridge station or maybe from the airport (Depending on time).
    We are bordering Kinglake NP. The Yarra Valley is about 30 minutes away (Well known for wineries and good food).
    Every Saturday there's the famous St Andrews market.
    Great location for bush walks, mountain biking, photography or just to relax.
    Mebourne CBD is about one hour away by car and/or public transport.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 938973958252