Help in the garden and home on a beautiful plot in the Adelaide Hills, Australia



Bisher 51 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    My partner and I (Glenda and Rob- sometimes know as ;-) Bob), are almost 60 (but young at heart!), and we live in the Adelaide Hills on a beautiful plot. We have frequent visits from our 6 children, their partners, and 4 grandchildren!

    When we bought this home is was covered in ivy, dead trees and other introduced species, but underneath it all we could see the bones of a beautiful garden, just waiting to come to life! The house was quite neglected also, and this was a first priority: to make it comfortable.

    The garden is slowly being revealed and we love it more every day. We enjoy birds, skinks and frequent koala visits, with even the occasional echidna or wombat popping in!

    We are about 20 minutes drive from beautiful swimming beaches, 20 minute drive from amazing wineries, and just 30 minutes from the City centre of Adelaide with wonderful galleries, museums, shopping, sporting and arts events.

    As my partner and I are not 'young 'uns' anymore, we really appreciate some help in the garden, and occasionally a little help with household duties.

    We really enjoy meeting people from other countries, sharing our lovely corner of the earth with them, and getting to hear all about their experiences.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are experienced gardeners and try to be as self sufficient as possible. As we are reasonably new in this particular property, there is still some work to do before we achieve this, but we love to share our knowledge and experience of gardening and living as independently as we can, as we have done in a previous home. We are mostly natural/organic/permaculturalists, rarely we will resort to tougher measures.

    We are also well travelled in Australia and can share our knowledge and experience of this wonderful land.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We often need help in the garden; Weeding, mowing, planting, mulching, fertilising, building fences, making paths, propagating plants

    Sometimes we need help with vacuuming floors, sweeping cobwebs, tidying cupboards, or cooking a simple meal.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Japanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Queen sized bed in a private bedroom for one or two people. Perhaps a single bed in the studio. The available accommodation depends on when your visit occurs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no easy public transport to our home, but we are only about 10 minute drive from local shopping and amenities. There is a small general store just a five minute walk away from our home. Ideally you will have your own car.

    Clarendon is a beautiful area and yet is very conveniently located to take advantage of the many beautiful sights and experiences in south Australia.

    We live life very relaxed. Both my partner and I both still work part-time, but we prefer to be out in the garden and to live a simple life! We thoroughly enjoy meeting new people.

    We prefer that you provide and prepare your own food as Rob is diabetic and we both have food intolerances. You are welcome to use our kitchen, and we have plenty of basics (salt, herbs, spices, flour etc) and sometimes loads of garden produce you can use.

    Our exchange arrangement is 3 hours of work, per person, per day. We hope that you will respect the additional cost of having other people in our home (South Australia has the most expensive electricity in the world and water is also very expensive), the extra physical work, and the compromises required, and that whilst we enjoy sharing with others, the arrangement needs to be mutually beneficial and to not cause financial hardship. We believe that, clean, friendly accommodation, along with outings, assistance, the ocassional joint family bbq meals, free access to do laundry etc. For just three hours each day is very good value. Remember, the more helpful you are for us, the more helpful we can be for you. We are quite relaxed about the arrangement for when you do the hours of work however, and can fit in with other work or plans. :-)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 hours per day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 931673155352