1 / 5

Family seeking support with homeschooling children in Belmopan, Belize

  • Belize
  • Bisher 38 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 31.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! My name is Kristen and my ex-husband's name is Richard. We live in Belize (outside of Belmopan) with our three children: Ian (12), Mia (9) and Ivy (7). We moved here in February 2021 from Washington state in the US and we have no plans to move back. We are currently both living at the same property (in two separate houses) while Kristen completes the build of her off-grid home about 45 minutes away. We have a wonderful and friendly relationship, we are just not married! Rich agreed to come to Belize for this adventure and none of us regret the move.

    We used to host au pairs so both of us could work in the States and loved it. Kristen left her career to move to Belize and took the last 1.5 years off to focus on the kids and adjust to homeschooling. She's since resumed working and we need support with our kids while both parents are working.

    Our kids love having another adult in the family. They love to play games, go to the pool and are great on the horses (we live next to horse stables). They do well in school and do not have any special needs with education, food, etc. However, they do need some direction to help stay focused on getting school work done and break up any sibling squabbles (fights).

    We expect that the 4 - 5 hours of support we would need each day would be focused on them - helping with school work, playing games, keeping their rooms clean/organized and helping them with their laundry. We can work out a schedule that works for both the parents and our workaway guest - making sure they have long weekends to explore Belize.

    To help ensure we're all contributing to the household duties, we would love to have our workaway guest prepare a couple of dinner meals for the family each week. We will, of course, provide the groceries, but would love the extra help and to try the foods you are most accustomed to and enjoy! We also ask that they tidy up after themselves, keep their room clean, etc. We do get the occasional cockroach or scorpion so tidy rooms help prevent surprises if you tend to leave clothes or other piles on the floors.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Unterrichten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    When we lived in the US, we hosted 4 different au pairs. We brought our au pairs with us on family vacations, ate meals with them, spent hours talking about each of our home countries and cultures. Our very first au pair (from 7 years ago) is visiting us soon and our 2nd au pair has invited us to her wedding in Spain. We've developed very strong relationships with all of our au pairs and anticipate we'll want to do the same with you. We love to try food and customs from other countries. We share our holiday celebrations with our guests.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would love to host a traveler who either has a training/education background or enjoys spending time with children. Our children (ages 7, 9 and 12) are homeschooled and parents need support with tutoring, homework and overseeing them while the parents are working (both work from home). We would love it if you'd like to commit to staying with us for a while (6 - 12 months or even more)! Ideally, this person is older than 21, has traveled before and won't be leaving a spouse or romantic partner behind. We also have always had female au pairs but are open to those who are excited by this opportunity - we just want them to love kids as much as they love traveling. If you don't like kids - this is not the right opportunity for you!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    My two daughters want to learn to speak Spanish! Richard took French in high school. Both Rich and Kristen are happy to help support our guest's fluency in the English language. Intermediate English speaking ability or fluent is preferred.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Until the end of 2022, we have a separate en-suite where we can host our guest. In early 2023, we will be able to host with a private bedroom and shared bath. We will be living in an off-grid community outside of Santa Familia in Belize. Both Kristen and Richard will be living in this community.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The workaway guest will be able to explore Belize on their own or with us, as a family. The buses in Belize take you all over the country and can even easily get to Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras. Belize has a lot to offer from jungle adventures, Mayan ruins, horseback riding, beach activities (scuba diving, snorkeling, etc)! The visa fees are $100 US/month to stay in Belize for an extended period and we would be happy to cover this expense for you, as well (assuming one guest vs guests traveling as couples), for as long as you'll be staying with us. Extended stays preferred for continuity for children and host parents.

    We would like to host only one workaway guest but may consider a couple. We would need to discuss how this would work.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have high speed internet. If our digital nomad wants to work a part-time job from our homes, it won't be a problem. We can get them a desk to work from. They'll have no trouble connecting with their friends and family through video chats.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    If our guest has their own vehicle, they are more than welcome to keep it parked at our homes. We will compensate for petrol if they use their vehicle to support us.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 923985916122

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Come and help on our family farm homestead in Toledo, Southern Belize
Help at an off-grid jungle farm in Harmonyville Belize