Freiwilligenarbeit auf einem Milchhof mit Gemüseanbau, in der Nähe von Killarney in Irland



Bisher 762 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are Gerard and Claire who live on a dairy and vegetable farm, near Killarney and Tralee, Co. Kerry. Gerard works mainly with the cows and Claire is a school nurse, working 3-4 days a week in Tralee.

    We live about 20 kms from Killarney and 10 kms from Tralee. Tralee is better for Claire to pick people up from the bus or train station. There is also an airport nearby, called Kerry Airport and served mainly by Ryanair. Normally, we take 2 or perhaps 3 people at one time.

    In Spring, we are busy with seed sowing, transplanting and generally getting our polytunnels ready for planting. However, Gerard would now like people to perhaps help him with his dairy herd, with cleaning , milking and generally caring for the cows. In Summer and Autumn, we are usually harvesting vegetables and in late Autumn, we are clearing away debris and cleaning the tunnels etc.

    We have recently converted a farm barn into a 2 bedroomed unit where helpers have space and privacy! There is a kitchenette and bathroom as well as a living area with a stove for heat in the winter. We have arranged that there will be food for breakfast and dinner here , but lunch will be in our house. Claire woud give the workawayers food to prepare for themselves. There is WiFi in this accommodation also.

    Volunteers can use our bikes and explore the countryside, or walk if they prefer. Helpers work 5 days a week, with the weekends off, when they can explore further around Kerry, especially Killarney or Dingle.

    Although we are not vegetarian, we do accommodate those who are.
    We prefer non smokers, but people can smoke outside the house if they wish.

    We can accommodate up to 2-3 people at a time, and usually for periods of about 2 weeks.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will see how a dairy/vegetable farm operates on a daily basis. We also show them how Claire bakes traditional Irish soda bread, and various other dishes we cook! A traveller would hopefully learn from talking to us in English. My daughters have a limited amount of Spanish, and Claire can perhaps have a smattering of French so we could learn from each other also!

  • Arbeit


    The volunteering involves sowing seeds, transplanting vegetable seedlings into the tunnels. Gerard may sometimes need help with milking the cows. Also, at certain times of the year, we need help with silage cutting and transferring and perhaps cutting wood or general maintenance around the farm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    We have recently converted a farm barn into a 2 bedroomed unit where helpers have space and privacy! There is a kitchenette and bathroom as well as a living area with a stove for heat in the winter. There is WiFi in this accommodation also. Food is available in the kitchenette, as well as in our home.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a rural area , with the nearest shop about 5 kms away. We are situated on the side of a mountain and usually people take our bike to cycle to the nearest village. Alternatively, they can walk , but it will take about 3/4 hour approximately to reach Castlelmaine.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...



Accommodation for volunteers
Helping with milking (optional!).
Working in polytunnels
Our farm roadway
Local farmers market

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 915927479283