Local charity projects and help care for my Pomeranian puppy in Palmetto, Florida, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 712 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 02.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there! I'm a 29-year-old Canadian female living in Palmetto, Florida. I work as a psychologist and I am often traveling through the US to different states. I also have a home in Jackson, Mississippi and Niagara Falls, Canada.

    I am a huge advocate for social justice, equality, and mental health. Much of this is reflected in my work. I specialize in working with LGBTQ+ youth and forensic patients who are incompetent to stand trial due to mental illness.

    My goals as a WorkAway Host are to offer a cultural exchange and to teach people around the world about the complexities of poverty and mental health in the American healthcare and justice system.

    I also LOVE animals! Sadly my 16-year-old chihuahua, Snickers, passed away (you will see lots of pictures of him on my page!). I have recently brought home a little Pomeranian puppy that is a HANDFUL. He enjoys running outside at the dog park. He has plenty of energy! I also take care of neighborhood cats and dogs, which is a lot of fun in my free time!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As I often travel to different states, I often like to bring my WorkAwayers with me to get a full cultural experience. I am mostly based in Palmetto, Florida (near St. Petersburg, Sarasota, and Tampa). Palmetto is a beautiful place, close to the beach for amazing sunsets.

    I also spend time in Jackson, Mississippi (the home of the Delta Blues) to help at a psychiatric and forensic hospital. Jackson is the capitol of Mississippi, located in the deep south halfway between Memphis and New Orleans. It is rich in American culture, history, and jazz and blues music. The Farish Street Neighborhood previously served as a cultural and business hub for the African American population of Mississippi and is currently being rebuilt. I can also provide a tour of the state's primary public mental hospital, which dates back to 1848. For those looking to learn more about American history, I am happy to take you to Jackson with me to experience this!

    I really enjoy taking WorkAwayers to explore trendy places in the area and experience as much American culture as I can!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Beyond the cultural exchange, I often need assistance with:
    * Planning holistic healing events
    * Caring for my Pomeranian puppy and pet sitting
    * Light cleaning
    * Volunteering with at-risk youth who are living in poverty
    * Social media promotion/marketing
    Please let me know if you have a preference for the type of tasks listed and I'll be happy to arrange it!

    My ideal WorkAwayer would be:
    * Able to stay 2-6 weeks
    * Open-minded and LGBTQ+ affirmative
    * Enthusiastic and empathic
    * Passionate about helping others
    * Interested in psychology and social justice
    * Dog lover
    * Enjoys exploring the city

    I'm fairly easy-going and I'm open to accepting families, pets, and couples.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Most of the time, I only accept one WorkAwayer at a time. You will share an apartment with me and have a private room and bathroom. In the case that I have more than one WorkAwayer because the dates overlap, you would share the room with the other WorkAwayer. The apartment complex has a pool, gym, and shopping areas nearby. I can send you pictures and videos of my apartment and room.

    The beach is about a 15 minute drive away. I'm happy to take you there when I'm available, or there is Uber/Lyft in the area. It's also a short 10-minute walk to a beautiful pier overlooking the water.

    You are welcome to eat any of the snacks in the house and cook your own food. During the week I'm usually out from 7 AM - 6:30 PM on Monday to Thursday so I can only guarantee that I can provide 1 meal (usually dinner). I will also give you some money to go to the grocery store to buy other foods you like.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    ARRIVING TO MY PLACE:

    * Monday through Thursday, I can usually pick you up at SRQ (Sarasota) airport or JAN (Jackson) airport.
    * Friday through Sunday, I can usually pick you up at TPA (Tampa), PIE (St. Petersburg/Clearwater), PNS (Pensacola), MSY (New Orleans), or MEM (Memphis).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes, we have stable wifi!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I will accept small pets!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 899676633818

Feedback (6)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)











Mach mit in unserem Kunsthandwerk-Studio in einer 150 Jahre alten Kirche in Pennsylvania, USA
Help us with a few projects and enjoy the frontier experience at our ranch near Raton, USA