Help us create a food forest permaculture farm close to Johannesburg, South Africa

Country

Südafrika

Bisher 26 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are in the beginnings of creating a food forest permaculture farm, to live a simple sustainable life, from the land, in harmony with nature’s ways as much as we can, to keep learning and observing as we go . By healing the land we heal ourselves.

    Come learn about permaculture and regenerative agriculture methods such as swales, natural ponds, water management and good soil building as a basis for healthy organic food. we are focusing on growing as much diverse food as possible, exploring both indigenous and more international foods .

    Learn about seed saving and propagation and edible weeds and much more

    We have started planting all sorts of berries, fruit trees, vines, ground covers and grains where we can. Short term quick crops, middle terms and long term. My retirement plan is a hammock under all the fruit trees .

    We have a few sweet animals which we welcome as part of the family community finding some harmony and balance in our little eco system. We share our food with them, and they in turn help us create good soil and spread and scatter seeds and do all sorts of for work for us just naturally by living their lives and doing their thing: birds of all kinds, Guinea fowl, ducks, rabbits, cats, rats and mice, moles and if you are lucky you might spot some deer.

    At the moment there are two of us staying here, but with friends and volunteers coming and going. We have two local Malawian workers to help us too

    We also welcome meditators, and those on a spiritual path and aikidokas . Anyone with an open heart really

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Chat to our Malawian workers, who are very friendly and can share a lot about traditional Malawian way of life, as well and life here in South Africa where they live not too far from the farm. Our neighbourhoodd include quite diverse bunch of people who are also very friendly and have a great sense of humour. We are also quite close to Soweto and have good friends there to visit, also close to lenasia, an Indian neighborhood with lots of temples and good Indian food

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Activities could include painting with mud, building rocket stoves, planting, digging, mulching, making kombucha and ginger beer, general maintenance, carpentry, compost toilet building, seed collecting ...the tasks and activities are varied and change according to what is going on at that time, who is around and your own skills and creativity .No special skills required, but if you have any skills in natural building that will be wonderful, or other handy farm skills. People skills, possibly sales and marketing skills when we are selling our produce.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am interested in learning Hindi. And also speaking Hebrew again.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a big old farm house :). You will have your own room or share with other volunteers depending on how many people are staying at the time. If you have your own tent and feel like a more natural outdoors under the trees space, then you are welcome to camp outside.


    We grow as much of our own food as we can, this will only get more and more over time.

    As we are In the process of going off the grid, we often cook on the fire, we do also have a gas stove, and are in the process of converting to solar to be completely off grid 🌞.
    We even heat our water for bathing on the fire

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Watch the stars..meditate, chat, maybe do yoga or if someone brings a musical instrument or enjoys story telling round the fire

    Public Transport to here is either local taxis, or Uber from Johannesburg.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We don’t mind a dog or cat or two, we don’t have any currently.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 897689482416