Looking for a volunteer to help with elderly father and garden in Frogmore, South Devon, UK.

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 106 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.05.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    112

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live in a beautiful area of South Devon. We have our own Luxury Bed & Breakfast and care for Anthony's elderly father, Raymond, who has dementia and lives in our annex. Frogmore is a small friendly village 3 miles from Kingsbridge and 12 miles from Dartmouth. There is a good local pub and a small shop/bakery. It is on a regular bus route between Dartmouth & Plymouth.

    Our home is situated on the estuary and has a large garden. We also have our own chickens and grow fruit & vegetables. We would like help in the garden, primarily weeding and general gardening, building some low walls around the veg garden and cleaning out the chickens etc.

    Anthony & I run the B&B with the help of cleaners, who usually service the rooms and do the cleaning.

    Our volunteer would be living in the annex with Raymond and we would like him/her to help look after Raymond a little. We generally take him fresh bread and fruit in the mornings for breakfast, provide him with a cooked lunch and a light supper. In the evenings he generally listens to music or watches TV in the annex. Once or twice a week we would like to go out leaving him in the care of our volunteer. Raymond likes to have someone to talk to occasionally, but his conversation is very repetitive. He is a very placid man and sleeps a lot during the day, but has to be kept to a routine. His condition is deteriorating and he gets very confused. We have carers who come in most mornings to help Raymond wash and dress, but he has the occasional accident which might require cleaning up.

    Raymond has a West Highland Terrier, Rafa, who is a delightful dog and one of us usually takes him for a walk in the afternoons.

    As well as the volunteering tasked agreed, we do expect our volunteers to muck in with everyday household tasks like washing up, keeping their bedroom and bathroom clean and generally tidying up after themselves.

    We live in a beautiful area, with lovely beaches and countryside.

    We do not accept smokers, heavy drinkers or drug users.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Living in a beautiful area in a friendly community.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Working in the garden, caring for the chickens, company for Raymond, making sure he looks after himself, preparing and eating supper with him a couple of nights per week. Walking the dog occasionally.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some Spannish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Double bedroom with TV. Use of Raymond's kitchen etc. The annex has a bathroom fitted with a bath seat for Raymond, but there is also a separate shower room. There is a lounge and dining room and a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Lovely local beaches and places to visit. Good bus service. Trains from Totnes (bus to Totnes from Kingsbridge).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 863412616275