Help with clay plaster in straw bale house near Copenhagen, Denmark

Country

Dänemark

Bisher 270 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 35 Tage

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm Martin - a strawbale builder

    I have hosted quite a lot, especially people interested in natural building, who are happy to help to complete my 2nd straw bale building.

    I got the idea to build a natural building several years ago, starting with no experience but a lot of energy, and here I am now with 2 houses.

    I speak a variety of languages, and I love to explore other languages than English. Sometimes friends join to help and have a good time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Straw bale building is easy, and this is a great opportunity to develop skills in natural building whilst exploring Copenhagen.

    Straw bale houses are ideal. Easy and cheap to build while putting minimum pressure on the environment. It is also a venture into debt free living and really getting close to natures own building blocks: Straw, clay, sand, gravel, timber and lime.

    Also many travellers are interested in Scandinavian living and not least 'hygge', which we guarantee with plenty of coffee, cakes, red wine, barbecues.... and of course the obligatory candlelight!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Currently we have one strawbale building which Martin built 2017/2018 with help from a few volunteers.

    The project for this summer is to build a second, smaller building - this time a timber framed rather than 'Nebraska' style (dont know what that is? Come learn with us!).

    We have constructed the plinth foundation and are finishing the timber frame. Next is to infill it with straw and then spend many happy moments 'mud dancing' to make the cob to plaster the walls with

    Particularly helpful would be eco building experience, but we value energy and fun above all others! We try to mainly use recycled materials and so sometimes have to adapt and develop our plans to fit with what we have available.

    Once the building has been completed we are going to repurpose the many windows that we have collected and make a conservatory (Danes call it a Winter Garden) which will link the two buildings, and make the most of the winter sun.

    There is also an opportunity of walking our two lovely dogs and helping with the cooking, but the main job is an extra pair of hands for both fun and dirty work (although another pair of hands in the washing up bowl after dinner would also make us very happy!)

    We do not demand more of you than you want or can do, but we hope that you come with a curious and yes-we-can attitude.

    We would like to work with you five days a week. We anticipate starting work at around 10am.

    We would prefer it if you had suitable workshoes, or at least a strong commitment to be very careful of your toes! We have plenty of workgloves.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Danish: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Russisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Russian, German, French and Spanish. Swedish, Norwegian.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    What will eventually be a little oasis of green, permaculture-based living in the suburbs of Copenhagen is at the moment a building site.

    The amenities are basic so volunteers should definitely be the adventurous types!

    There is currently no electricity as our solar panels are yet to be installed. When they are in place there will be electricity available to charge phones. There is no refrigerator - it works for us as we are mostly vegetarian, and a lot of the time eat vegan, but it might make a big difference to you so its best to be warned!

    Volunteers will stay in the new house. It is really suited to one person - if you are two, you will need to like each other in advance

    I'm mostly vegetarian. There will be food, when we are working, and the guests are always welcome to eat what there is.

    If you have any worries or concerns whilst you are here please, please feel able to tell us - Workaway is supposed to be fun! :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live 15 minutes walking from a train station from which you can get a direct train into central Copenhagen. It takes about 15mins and a single journey with a travel card it is approx €2. Altenatively you can cycle in, all on designated cycle paths (naturally, this is Copenhagen - the cycle capital of the world!) which takes about 35mins.

    Copenhagen speaks for itself. It's full of history and culture, bars and museums. You will not starve when it comes to going out and about.

    You can even go hunting for the Six Forgotten Giants, huge wooden sculptures created by local artist from recycled wood and hidden in the forests which ring part of Copenhagen and are 5 mins walk from the house.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I live on 12v from solar

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dog friendly place :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 793235289444