Help with some home improvement projects and share our life here in Plymouth, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 110 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    801

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, I live in the lovely sea-port of Plymouth in the southwest of England. I am a gay man, living with my partner, Malik. We are two professional people, he is a doctor originally from Bali, now working in Plymouth and I am a headteacher. Most of my work is with schools in 'crisis', I frequently work away from home with schools in other areas of the country on short-term assignments. As you can imagine our lives are quite busy! I also have four children, the youngest of which is now fourteen and lives in Plymouth with her mother.

    We are both quite relaxed people, enjoying walks in the countryside, travel, meeting new people and interested in the arts. Malik enjoys the classical arts, he plays the piano and violin, and is an excellent sketcher. Typical of so many people from around the globe, Malik speaks many languages and enjoys the opportunity to indulge in practicing. Unlike Malik, I'm a typical British person and sadly only speak English so at least you'll have the opportunity to practice your English speaking language skills with me! My favourite hobby is to act within a 'playback theatre' company; this is a form of improvised theatre where the actors respond to stories told by members of the audience.

    Eight years ago I came out as a gay man, moved out from my family home and moved to the house that I currently live in. The house is quite big, very old and in need of a lots of renovation, but it was a house that I could afford and enabled me to live close to my children and to provide a space where they could visit and stay sometimes. Bit by bit I have been improving things, I try to do as much of the work as I can myself but it is hard work on your own, especially when I cannot afford to pay for professional builders to just come in and sort it all out.

    We, (Malik and myself), would like to offer the opportunity to stay with us in return for helping out around the house generally and maybe being able to help with some building and renovation work, we would provide food and accommodation in the house, some good company and an introduction to the area.

    The house is in the centre of Plymouth, close to the city centre for access to shops and close to the historic sea front and harbour, all walking distance. A bus ride will take you to beaches or to the wonderful remote expanse of Dartmoor.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Both Malik and myself are educated, open and welcoming people. We would be happy sharing our lives with new people, introducing you to the local area, to our friends and to some of the special places that we like to visit. We would definitely be able to help you develop English language skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for people who can help with some general jobs around the house, some cleaning and sometimes some cooking; We would be particularly excited to find people who have some building or decorating skills. I have some rooms that need painting, I also want to relocate my kitchen to another room and to build a new bathroom. It would be great if you have any skills in plastering, general building, carpentry, or plumbing.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Indonesian: Fließend
    Malay: Fließend
    Russian: Fließend
    Thai: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Work-awayers would be sharing the house with Malik and myself. They would sleep in either their own room or a couch/bed in shared living area within the house. The house is an old, victorian three-story terraced house. As I am renovating it, arrangements for the use of rooms varies depending on what work is being done at any one point. However, it is warm, dry and friendly!
    We would expect Work-awayers to participate fully in the domestic life of the house, sharing cooking, washing dishes, house cleaning.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Plymouth is a historic navel sea-port. From Plymouth there is good access to beaches and open moorland, there are also many historic places to visit within the southwest. The house is a few minutes walk from the main train station, from which you can get trains to Cornwall or to the rest of the country. London is three and half hours by train.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My house, in the centre of Plymouth, an old Victorian terraced house.
My house is a work in progress.
There is some beautiful coastline close to Plymouth
We often enjoy a walk on the coast
My son and daughter here also
Celebrating Gay Pride on Plymouth Hoe. Behind us is Smeatons Tower, one of the first stone-built lighthouses, now a museum
Malik (in his Balanese outfit) and myself



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 786426942552