Holiday / events venue in the wilds of the Cairngorm National Park, Scotland



Bisher 689 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • paid opportunity



  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung



    We are a family of four with two little boys age 2 & 5. We run a busy holiday accommodation and events venue from our home which is right in the middle of the Cairngorm National Park

    We have two different Workaway requirements, each quite specific to different skills -

    Firstly, we are looking for a practical, energetic and creative individual or couple to help with the day to day runnings at our place which include housekeeping, gardening, maintenance, hospitality and events. We have a couple of building projects just starting so building experience is also a huge bonus.

    We are looking for a childcare assistant to join our family for a minimum of 3 months, this is a role which we have developed as an essential cog to our life within our business. Our boys have thrived in the last 12 months and currently we are hoping to meet the right individual to fill that role.

    We are very fortunate to have met some incredible folks through workaway, each who have contributed amazingly and ironically 'exactly' what was required at the time.

    Our place is really peaceful and has great opportunities for outdoor adventuring. We're one mile from the centre of the Nethy bridge and a 20 minute drive into Aviemore.
    An independent individual/s who is comfortable with their own company and adventures would be best suited to our location.
    Through the seasons its a wonderful place with a good crew of friends around and we always try and make time for loch swimming, camping and getting the woodland fire pit going.
    We have an exceptionally busy season ahead with a few weddings, some corporate or celebration events, yoga retreats, and lots of catering gigs, in amongst planning to build our new home.

    We currently have space for 3 workawayers in exchange here. Accommodation is in a shared self contained house and we try to ensure you work 5 days on and 2 days off. Approx. 25 hours per week and if joining us as part of a couple we aim to have your time off together.

    We have a friendly, happy, creative atmosphere here and our place is perfectly located to explore the local area during your time off.

    If you have any plans to visit Scotland we'd love to hear from you.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have good local knowledge and social connections in the valley. We also have a friend who runs an English language class 5 miles away on a Wednesday and Friday evening, which we welcome those who are keen to practice a new language to attend.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit


    We have accommodation changeovers almost every day through our busy times so housekeeping is a large part of the role and while you don't necessarily need to have a great deal of experience we do need people with a high level of standards and attention to detail.

    With an old heap like our place there is nearly always something to fix or develop. Over the past five years we've been in a constant state of renovation, upgrading the style and comfort of the cottages, installing wood burners, biomass heating, event infrastructure, play areas for the kids etc..
    We're constantly trying to improve the guest (and our own) experience and amongst all this and our events calendar there is always grass to cut, logs to chop, slates to fix, the other end of a sofa to carry, drinks to serve, lambs to roast, veg to grow.. Could be anything really.

    We are looking for an mature childcare assistant who has previous au pair experience with young children. You will be positive, energetic, nurturing and able to take initiative with the children's learning and development. Strong English language skills are really important.

    As we live in a small village within the vibrant Spey valley we provide access to an automatic car specifically for exploring the beaches, lochs, hills and highlights of the local area with Harris and Woody. So you will need to have a drivers licence and be confident to drive on the narrow Scottish roads!! Some housekeeping is expected, but isn't a key aspect of the position.

    Please contact us for more information about the package we can offer you - it includes accommodation and food. We are looking for a commitment of 25 hours per week, with one evening and a late start. You'll get two days off a week. While these won't always be Saturday/Sunday, they will be two days in a row clear.

    More info about the boys...

    Harris is six and in primary 2 at the local school. He's very smart and jam packed with the challenges and enthusiasms for having just turned 6. He loves his bike, treehouse, being outside, playing with his pals, dancing, cooking, making stuff [especially lego!].

    Woody is now three and a happy chappy. He loves pottering, learning to ride his bike and is into everything and has just discovered the joys of wrestling with his big brother.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️SKILLED TRADES*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Beyond our regular Workaway requirements we are also looking to develop a team of skilled and semi skilled workers to join us throughout the next 2 years as we develop 2 properties on site, we are welcoming applications for this period - both now and into next year. Principally we are re-developing a cottage towards rental and at present are drawing plans for a complete new build for our family home.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is in a three bedroom bungalow in the garden. It has its own private garden and is a very peaceful spot. The cottage is configured as a double, and two singles but we would look to accommodate up to 3 guests at any one time.
    There is communal access to the grounds and fire pit.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is set on the edge of the Abernethy Forest within the Cairngorm National Park and its a fantastic base for exploring on foot, by bike or on the river.
    Leading out from the house is a massive network of forest paths, teaming with bird and wildlife, nearby lochs are great for a hot summer wild swim and the area is a dream for mountain bike enthusiasts.
    With our approximate schedule of 5 hours, 5 days a week this leaves plenty of time to explore the local area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours / 5 days per week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 763771516994