Introducing a biodiversity haven in Birr, Ireland

  • Bisher 50 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 18 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, Ours is a small wooded farm in central Ireland. We are close to the Slieve Bloom mountains, the Shannon, the cutaway bogs, L. Boora regeneration park and the beautiful rural landscape of Offaly. We manage the land for biodiversity, keep a few animals and occasionally host groups who want to experience social and therapeutic horticulture and nature. This is not for profit. Any extra we grow is gifted to visitors and friends or used for feeding visitors. We are keen to do a monthly log of bees, butterflies and birds here to share on the national data base. Every year we notice a few new species and we want to document, maybe you can help and learn too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can offer independent accommodation in a traditional Irish farm house, ceilings are low! You can live independently. We can offer support learning English, and we speak Italian and German. Music is important here. We are in central Ireland, 8 miles from Birr town and close to the Slieve Bloom mountains, the Shannon and the cutaway bogs. Weekends, unless you are house sitting I am happy to drop you to bus or rail services for exploration and travel. 2 days a week I work from home as a therapist and also gardening and noticing nature. I can show you how therapeutic horticulture can work and how working with nature can look. As I work during week, if you would like to work with me and learn this may be on Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays, so you may like to plan your time off to match this.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Hi, We welcome help with minding animals, grass cutting, watering and weeding. We would appreciate occasional animal sitting over weekends or if on a summer break. We have 2 bedrooms available. During winter months we would ask for general maintenance help. You will want to keep the fire burning and then you will be cosy.
    We suggest an initial short stay and this can be reviewed by all to see if a longer stay would suit.
    Please note before we invite you we need to see if you have skills that match our needs. We will arrange to meet you online and then we will take some time to reflect and plan, so please don't book tickets until we have made a firm agreement. After our online meeting, we will need time to think and reflect so please wait til we definitely say yes and agree tasks before booking tickets. We want you to find yourself in the right place and we want to enjoy your visit too, so this preplanning is essential.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    we are a multilingual family and are always keen to learn new things

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    old Irish farmhouse, 2 bedrooms upstairs, wood stove and independent kitchen. We have eggs, some vegetables in season and local shops can meet most dietary needs if you have special food requirements. We do not provide all your meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We would support time off, independent travel and exploration, lifts to train or bus on weekends. There is wifi in local library and most cafes and a landline for receiving calls. Being central we are 90 minutes from Dublin or Galway by public transport, and 10 mins by car from nearest town with lots of shops, cafes and bars. Cinema is 20 mins away by car. This is a paradise for people who want peace and who love nature. You will enjoy the most if you have your own transport.
    The fabulous L. Boora Parklands Discovery park is 10 mins away by car, the Slieve Blooms are 15, and the Shannon and her luscious callows are 15 mins away. This area is really good for birdwatchers and for walkers, hikers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    no.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    lots of parking

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 2-3 days a week, occasional weekends minding animals and watering, by prior agreement

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 753979812781

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)




Enjoy our sports pub in West Kerry, Ireland
Help with childminding/housework in County Donegal, Ireland