Help out a British family living in the heart of a Central Portuguese national park in Arganil, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 10 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a British family (Heather, Martyn and Maya) living in the heart of a Central Portuguese nature park. We run two businesses, one renting a second property, and a second as natural therapists, primarily nutrition and hair analysts, but also CranioSacral Therapy and others. Most of our nutrition work is internet based.

    Our house has been renovated from a ruin in 2014. Situated in the heart of the Portuguese nature park. Workaway's will have the top floor of the house to themselves (excluding the therapy room) and their own kitchenette and en-suite.

    Our valley is full of environmentally conscious families. We grow our own vegetables, keep hens, ducks and sheep, try to limit damage to our beautiful valley. We are often called, The Happy Valley! There are many musicians among us and artists. We are quiet and very friendly!

    Our family is very early to bed and early to rise. It is important that anyone who joins us can be quiet in the late evening.

    We are primarily looking for help supporting our daughter Maya (now aged 7) work through her Portuguese year books, whilst developing her Portuguese language skills.

    Additionally, since Martyn is unable to do heavy manual work due to structural damage primarily caused whilst in the Royal Marines, combined with the devastating fires that destroyed much of the area in October 2017, there is still much to repair and rebuild.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    When the fire storm passed through central Portugal, our small community took a terrifying hit. We have become very close and very supportive. We know every family who lost everything they owned. You will be welcomed here with such gratitude. The local Portuguese have been burned too and the love and care we feel for each other is something quite special.

    Experience breathtakingly beautiful forest valley views from the doorstep of a delightful modern house. Surrounded by waterfalls and walks, enjoy the Portuguese culture in either two local traditional villages with cafe's, shop and crafts.

    You can walk to the waterfall Fraga da Pena in less than 20 minutes from the house. The waterfall pool is warmest late evening!

    All the wonderful walks around us now reveal many previously hidden terraces and steps as the deep undergrowth has burned away. However now, over two years after the fires, everywhere is greening up and the undergrowth is recovering. It is all beautiful again.

    We're also Nutritionists who use Hair Tissue Mineral Analysis as our guide. The healing process we discuss with our clients involves nutrition, supplementation, detoxification, meditation and basic lifestyle skills. The approach is very much a journey in the theme of Joseph Campbell's 'Hero with a Thousand Faces' combining Oriental Medicine, Yin/Yang, Jungian Psychology, development, and beyond.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Primarily we are looking for Portuguese language support for our home educated 7 year old with her Portuguese school work.

    Additionally, we need help developing our present organic farming, chicken, duck and sheep set-up. This includes:

    a. Fencing new pastures.
    b. Building a duck pond
    c. Building and maintaining raised vegetable beds.
    d. Digging swales.
    e. Sawing wood, pruning, etc.

    Work 5 days a week, 3-4 hours a day.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Guests have the use of the top floor of the house. Facilities will include two rooms. One with a double bed incorporating a small kitchenette and the second an en-suite shower room.

    You will receive €30 a week in total to purchase food. Help yourself to fruit and vegetables from the garden.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is an ideal location for hiking with breathtakingly beautiful forest valley views, waterfalls and walks. Enjoy the Portuguese culture in either two local traditional villages with cafe's, shop and crafts.

    This is a remote location but you can hop in the car with Heather on any food run, and go with her to the Tábua Sunday market.

    No smoking please.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    No wifi upstairs but fast ethernet connection on top floor.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    To be discussed

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 743647698685