Help with hosting in the hills of Antigua, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

aktualisiert  

Bisher 79 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    91.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hola!

    I am an English lady living with my Guatemalan partner in the hills of Antigua Guatemala.

    I recently hosted my first Workawayer and it was a really great experience. So I would like to host more in the future!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be working an all-Guatemalan team and you'll be living in a local 'village' style neighbourhood typical of Guatemala. You will practice Spanish every day with them except Sundays when everyone has a day off with the exception of the house-keeper if she's needed to turnover the accommodation for leaving/arriving guests.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I’d like to host a couple or a couple or two friends for mid-july and August (in one full block) who can do a house-sitting style role so that I can take a trip back to my country and see my family. You will basically be at our property to house sit / help out guests at our 5 lodgings.

    The duties are pretty light and involve :

    - monitoring and responding to incoming clients on the bnb and maybe other apps and helping resolve any issues if they come up.
    - being a trusted presence
    - working with our team to make sure things function well for clients and that their needs met from help checking in, to booking breakfasts, to organising transport.

    The team who will take care of you (we're like a 'team hosting deal), all live in the local village and consists a house-keeper / cook, a driver, a gardener and a general groundsman. All of the team are Guatemalans and none of them speak English so you will get plenty of language practice and need to be a patient person comfortable with using google translate if needed. We have other team members but these are the people you'll be among every day.

    We need people-persons, able to respond to unhappy guests or unexpected situations with grace, care and a positive attitude when things go wrong (extremely rare and unlikely to happen), able to use the bnb app, be comfortable to problem-solve when drains block or a random maintenance issue surfaces for example! You will need to be resourceful as if a part is needed you might have to go to the local market or ask the team for help finding things. You also need to be able to say no to pushy entitled clients, who thankfully make up a very small portion of our guests (about 2%). The majority of our clients are well-mannered and well-educated Guatemalans who also speak english. The 2% entitled do not originate from Guatemala.

    You need to be happy living in a relatively quiet and remote countryside mountain village style of neighbourhood (the historical centre of Antigua Guatemala is a 10-15 minute drive).

    You will be living in a 2-single bed dorm/office at the small farm which is pretty rustic and basic but which has a great hot water shower and amazing volcano views. There are also desks if you need to be working remotely.

    Regardless of the hours and days stated in the box, this role will require you to prioritise your work time around what clients need. In essence, you get to manage your time and have complete freedom to do site-seeing as long as you can help guests with check-in or out as they need it.

    Overall your time will add up to more than two days off per week (more like 5 or 6) but you might not be able to take days in a row off if the bookings calendar is full. You need to be responsible and autonomous about the calendar and respond accordingly. This would suit you if you're happy exploring locally whilst here or working remotely and happy to stay local for 2 few months.

    You're basically going to be relaxing in the mountains and monitoring an helping several guests per week and be my eyes and ears at the farm.

    Due to the light duties, food is not included in this Workaway placement except any fresh vegetables that the gardener is harvesting from our organic kitchen garden which you are welcome to if there is a surplus (we make and sell home-cooked frozen meals in our farm shop). If the kitchen is also cooking a batch of meals you will be asked if you would like to eat a lunch or dinner portion accordingly. You have a small electric hob and basic cookware etc in the accommodation.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation is 2 x single beds in a bunk-bed format in a dorm with ensuite hot shower and amazing views.

    Please note: It is never allowed for workawayers to invite personal guests to the farm or into the dorm - they must be met a the the entrance of the property unless they are booked in as paying guests.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Antigua is a melting pot of food, art, culture, excellent coffee, free salsa lessons, yoga, adventure! And of course, one of the major destination to learn Spanish!

    You might want to just enjoy the scenery of erupting volcanoes and having a snapshot of village life whilst ding your own work remotely, you might be n a career break and want to focus on wellness and exploring whilst having a base and purpose with us - it's all possible here in Antigua.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    You will be in an environment where working remotely it's an issue. If you are a digital nomad who is happy up in the remote hills then you'll be happy here. We are not in walking distance to the city centre so you might spend lots of time on the hill - it's essential that you are happy in your own company - or if you are a couple, in each others!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2 hours a day, 5 times a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 742286162355