Help restore our large coffee hacienda and stay at our beach house in Playa Santa, Guanica, Puerto Rico

Country

Puerto Rico

aktualisiert  

Bisher 28 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're Thomas and Joyce, a retired 70something couple living in Playa Santa, Guanica, a small beach community in the southwest of Puerto Rico. Our community is not on the American tourist radar but is primarily a resort for Puerto Ricans who come for day trips or have vacation homes here. We're a few hundred feet from Playa Santa, an excellent flat water beach. We regularly kayak, swim and bicycle. There's a nice 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor of our home that is suitable for singles or couples. The community has three restaurants, and two bars. A bakery/food store, drug store and hardware store are 3 miles away. A supermarket and fast food is 6 miles. Walmart, etc., is 25 miles.
    We recently purchased an overgrown 228 acre coffee hacienda on a mountain north of Yauco. It has spectacular valley views and borders Lago Lucchetti and Rio Yauco. We've cleared with a bulldozer some old roads and uncovered the old house and a pigpen and now could use help keeping the weeds down, planting new fruits and vegetables and improving the old concrete house shell.
    At the turn of the 20th century Puerto Rico was a major exporter of fine coffee, a variety called Puerto Rico Typica. Today it imports the vast majority of it's own coffee consumption. We'd like to restore the hacienda to some version of it's former self and leave this property in a productive condition growing Typica coffee and other fruits and vegetables.
    The beach house also needs paint and we could use some help with housework.
    We prefer to host couples but singles will also be considered.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This community is mostly native Puerto Ricans but has several retired Americans as well. You will be immersed in Puerto Rican culture if you choose. Weekdays we are a quiet seaside town and weekends we buzz with jetskis and power boats. Our friends are native Puerto Ricans, and Americans from all over the USA.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Thomas, is a retired mechanical engineer and consummate handyman. He needs help with his projects. We're currently focused on the hacienda trying to keep the weeds at bay and planting bananas, coconuts, pineapple, avocado, mango and soon coffee. Joyce would like to be free of some household and garden responsibilities.
    The traveler/helper needs to be capable of heavy work like moving tree limbs that have been cut down, mowing, running a string trimmer and digging earth. You need to be comfortable using tools in general and climbing ladders but the required skills can be taught. Thomas loves to pass on to young, interested people, what he's learned along the way.
    Another primary goal is for us to learn some Spanish. We have some Spanish vocabulary but need to practice conversational Spanish language.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I need to learn Spanish. I've been working with Duolingo and have a decent vocabulary but no opportunity to practice. I'm hoping a workawayer can provide that practice.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The beach house has a ground floor two bedroom, 1 bath apartment with a second bathroom accessed from the exterior. It has a full kitchen with a 2-burner range and a small refrigerator. It has air conditioning but no one has used it because we have a breeze ALL THE TIME.
    We will be happy to have some meals together but mostly prefer our privacy at mealtime. We will provide basic food for guests' use in the apartment.
    You would also be welcome to camp at the hacienda but there are no facilities.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have four kayaks, bicycles, and (maybe) a 50cc motor scooter you can use. There are many miles of unspoiled coast all around us. Of course you can spend time at one of the several beaches within 5 minutes walking.
    We prefer to host couples but singles will also be considered.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes, good internet speed

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    You can park at the hacienda, but not the beach house.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 717336969467