Help with renovations/woodland/gardening at our Gascony Chateau in rural SW France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 200 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Christine and Mike and, following many years of holidays in the Gers, in South West France, we moved here on a permanent basis in September 2016. Our home is a Gascony Chateau - part of which dates back to the 13th century - which has a large barn, gite, out buildings, swimming pool and over 5 hectares of land. We run a chambres d'hotes and rent out the gite for self catering. We share our home with a large, friendly, Labradoodle called Hugo! Whilst he is very sociable, we are not able to take anyone travelling with a pet and workawayers must like dogs to volunteer here!

    Our house is located in a rural setting on the edge of a very small hamlet, 5 kms from a small market town with bars, restaurants, supermarkets etc and 24 kms from the departmental capital, Auch. Toulouse (accessible by train from Auch) is 1.5 hours by car, the Pyrenees and Bordeaux approximately 2 hours drive.

    Whilst we have numerous indoor and outdoor projects, one of our ongoing plans is to make our woodland more accessible to guests and visitors. We are keen to leave a significant area of woodland for wildlife (we have counted over 60 different species of birds from our land and see deer, red squirrels, hedgehogs etc) but are also developing a wild flower garden to attract more butterflies, and clearing paths around the woods and along the River Baïse which borders our land. We still want to access the old disused railway embankment and the final stage of our woodland path creation will 'join up' the paths to form a circular walk around the grounds. in 2019 started our vegetable garden which we have developed further in 2020 and which we plan to expand and develop in forthcoming years.

    As we have been living in France for a relatively short time, we are still learning about our new environment and want to explore and experience the local way of life. We are taking French lessons and are keen to improve our spoken French so help with that would be very welcome. We speak English at home, though and so spoken English is essential.

    We are conscious that coronavirus has made 2020 a difficult year for everyone. We have developed Covid-19 information for our guests, however, and are determined that any workaway experience will be a safe one for both volunteers and ourselves. We are lucky enough to have plenty of space both onside and out to make social distancing possible.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We will provide support, advice and learning as appropriate to the task being undertaken. Our home is centuries old and has an interesting history - we continue to learn about the culture of this area of France as we live and work here. We have both experienced long but very different careers in the UK prior to moving to France, are keen to share our experiences and are always interested in learning from others.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a large number of projects underway including:

    Woodland clearance and 'chipping'
    Creating paths down to the river, to the site of an old church, to the disused railway embankment and through the woodland
    Log gathering, cutting, splitting and storing
    Gardening (mainly weeding, spreading woodchips and general tidying!)
    Removing an old caravan previously left in the woods
    Developing and maintaining our 'no dig' allotment
    Clearing the barn and out buildings
    Various 'Do it Yourself' projects
    Painting
    Household tasks

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will live either in the self contained gite or in a room on the top floor of the chateau which has access to a kitchen, bathroom and large living area. We would generally expect to eat together and appreciate visitors helping to prepare/clear up communal meals and expect that this will be an activity outside of 'working time'. Our diet is mainly, but not exclusively, vegetarian. We have experienced some delicious meals prepared and cooked by our workaway guests who we ask to cook at least one meal during their stay!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Volunteers would be collected from Auch and will be welcome to join us at local markets, vide greniers, trips of interest etc. The house is in a rural setting, however, and volunteers without their own transport may wish to borrow one of our pushbikes to explore local towns and villages.

    We are non smokers and would appreciate volunteers who do not smoke.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The self contained gite - one option for volunteer accomodation
Our newly installed guest kitchen - available for use by volunteers
One of the chateau bedrooms - an option for volunteer accomodation
The view over the garden from the terrace
Part of the old woodland in Spring
Old fruit trees in the grounds
The tunnel under the disused railway embankment in the woodland
Hugo! Large, noisy, very friendly and always keen to play...
The back of the Chateau

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 673399784619