Learn about the whole coffee process and help us restore our family farm in the mountains of Jardin, Colombia



Bisher 102 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hola! My name is Arley, and together with my family I run a coffee finca (farm) in the beautiful mountains close to Jardín, in the state of Antioquia, the birthplace of coffee in Colombia.

    The finca has been in my family for 5 generations, but was in a bad state until I bought it from my grandfather and decided to bring it back to its former glory.

    Currently the finca produces high-quality and delicious mountain-grown arabica coffee, which is handpicked throughout the year. We believe it is the best coffee in the world, but we invite everyone to come and try! We have tours every day, where people come to the finca and experience the coffee process themselves; from planting to tasting.

    Aside from coffee, we grow bananas, platanos, citrus fruit, and avocados. We also have many vegetable gardens with lettuce, beans, beets, carrots, and much more.

    And we need help further (re)building and improving the farm!

    Please note that due to limited internet access and my occasional travel to and from Medellín, you can expect a reply within one week.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    When staying with us, you will experience the life of a coffee growing family in Colombia, practice Spanish, learn about the whole process of coffee from plant to cup, and learn about general work around a family finca. You will meet a lot of new people (including those that come for a tour). And we look forward to learning from your experiences as well!

  • Arbeit


    There is a lot to do around the farm. In an average week, you can expect to work 5 days, 4-5 hours per day on:
    - building and maintaining the vegetable gardens, picking vegetables and fruits
    - helping with and learning about the coffee process
    - helping out with tours and making sure our visitors have a good time
    - helping me improve my English, and we help you improve your Spanish
    - general work to help the finca become more sustainable, and to help us get Rainforest Alliance certification
    - drinking a lot of good coffee whilst enjoying the beautiful view!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We currently have one basic room with a 2-person fold out bed. Sheets and pillows are provided, but please bring your own towel. There is a shared bathroom with a hot-water shower.

    In return for your work we will provide traditional and tasty breakfast, lunch, and dinner. If you would like snacks or other drinks (such as a beer after work), please provide them yourselves.

    And you can drink all the coffee you want!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    On the finca we have a lazy dog (Lolo), 2 rabbits, chickens, and there are 62 different species of birds. The area offers hikes, waterfalls, and beautiful nature.

    The finca is 15 minutes from Jardin by tuc tuc and should cost no more than 20.000COP with your luggage.

    Due to the coffee process, there can be a lot of moscos (type of mosquito) so please bring long clothes for work (we will provide boots) and plenty of insect repellent.

    The finca does not have wifi, and cellphone reception is limited.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 629815273943