Working in a group of young people with trees and plants in Hessen, Germany



Bisher 540 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung



    Hi guys,

    We (Nora 22, Lulu 21, Ulle 56 and Stephan 64) have a tree nursery in the middle of Germany (in HESSEN, not like in the map near Bremen!!) where we grow and sell plants.

    Our house is in the middle of the beautiful German countryside and is located a 15-20 minute walk from Bebra (Hessen) , close to a beautiful lake, and close to a very old city: Rotenburg an der Fulda. There are seven chickens and a dog living with us, also lots of all sorts of plants and trees.

    Accommodation is in your own house: which you will share with the other workawayers. You can choose where you sleep (there we have 2 sleeping rooms) or in the big family house where we have 4 sleeping rooms. The breakfast and the dinner you will have in your house: the lunch we will have all together in the big family house. We want to let you know that the we are vegetarian (though you can buy your own meat) and we rarely eat meat at the family meals.

    We always aim to have 2 to 5 people staying with us and we do ask for a minimum stay of one week.

    Though the chores are not always easy, our main goal is to create something together which goes further than "working for food and accommodation". It is important that you love outdoors work. It's easy to connect with the work if you enjoy fresh air, the smell of wet earth, the feeling of aching muscles every now and then. Team work makes the dream work and the other way around so lets grow together as a team. That obviously means that we spend time after work together, make trips to the surrounding area, take long walks in the nature, have bonfires or movie nights. Sometimes though we (the family) has busy times so it shouldn't be a problem for you to spend time on your own or go with the train by your own if you want to see towns, castles, parks etc.

    Hope to see you soon!
    Best regards
    Nora, Lulu, Stephan, Ulle & everyone else

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You'll get a warm and healthy lunch with the family and a kitchen full of food for the mornings, evenings and in-between bits. You'll get a comfortable accommodation, the company of the family and all the international people. You will learn about independent work on the farm and in the gardens and one of our main goals: Improving communication! If there's any thought, concern, problem or idea we need to talk because no matter how much we care about our guests: We can't read thoughts. Being ready to share your thoughts and to listen to other peoples thoughts is the first step towards a good communal living and it is something everybody of us has to practice as much as possible!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    A usual day at our farm looks like this: 9am you start chores. There are two options: sometimes we need you to go to a garden from one of our customers and do some gardening or basic landscaping. Or you stay at the tree nursery for work. There's always lots to do: building, fixing, digging, planting, cutting and lots more.. It's not always easy but you'll be able to improve your gardening skills, learn to work independently and have fun with everybody else, too.

    Ideally we host people who have experience working with plants, trees, or building and repairing. There's always repairs and renovating to be done all through the year. We also welcome cooks and bakers :) Also it is helpful if you are open to learning some of the wonderful German language. We want you to leave with some basic German language skills, and the feeling of having developed together with us :)

    In your free time you'll have the opportunity to explore the forests, fields and riverside around or take a pause and simply relax. Since we have a lot of room you can always take time for yourself but there are mostly people around as well so you can share time together. Its amazing being together with people who love traveling as much as we do!

    You can always ask for a ride to the train stations in Rotenburg and Bebra. From there you can take the train and explore near by places like Fulda, Kassel, Eschwege, Eisenach, Frankfurt and so on. Also there is a lake not far away where you can swim in the summer.
    By foot it will take you about 2 hours to Rotenburg and 45 minutes to Bebra. It is a nice walk on the riverside through pure nature. People with "wanderlust" will love it!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The workawayers house is a small house with living room (including a wood oven and huuuge couch!), bathroom, kitchen and 2 bed rooms. You can see there is a wall in the living room: people from more than 13 different countries wrote their names at the wall and hopefully your name will be there, too!

    For your breakfast and evening meal we buy the basics for the house: Bread, fruit, vegetables, pasta, butter, milk, cereal, etc. Alcohol, meat or sweets you have to buy yourself.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We recommend you to bring waterproof and warm clothes (especially shoes) and your own working cloves!

    We are also looking for someone who wants to stay for a little longer (6 months or longer).
    You would help organize the workaway, and have more responsibility for the work done here. You'd need to be able to speak German and have some experience as a gardener or with plants.
    The job is going to take more time and energy than the usual workawayers tasks but also you are going to have a closer relation with the family and farm living. You are going to learn a lot about the German culture and live style and for sure some more skills that will help you in your further life.
    If you are interested you can first come for a month and see if that job suits you. We can always decide about further details.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hour a day/ 5 days a week, sometimes more, sometimes less

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 625391728356