Creating a home in the forest in Omotumotu Valley, New Zealand

  • Neuseeland
  • Bisher 112 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 Nov. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We are two friends who co-bought a 30-acre section of native forest at the top of the Omoto valley, with the intention of creating a space where ourselves, friends, and family can use and feel at home. From the road end, it’s a 5-minute walk to reach our section along a small graveled path, built by hand. We have two small cabins sited up on a river terrace, under a canopy of rata and rimu trees, with a view out across the valley and the forest around. We have built /renovated both cabins ourselves to suit the surroundings, using mostly recycled materials, with plenty of exposed timber and cutting no corners on finishing touches. There is no road noise or sign of any neighbours and there's no utility services connected, so it feels remote and is pretty simple living.

    Since coming into ownership of the land, there has been an ongoing stream of projects to create a place which is simple but practical and mostly outdoor living, yet comfortable & homely at the same time. These projects have included building a garage / carport area, a path to the cabins, planting over 100 fruiting trees/berry bushes, establishing a herb/vegetable patch, installing solar power, putting in water supplies, cutting kilometers of tracks through the forest, setting up a trapping network for pests in the area, installing climbing routes up trees, building a 23m2 cabin from scratch, setting up a composting toilet, etc, etc. Current/future projects include further renovations to the old cabin, building a tunnel house, cutting more tracks for trapping lines, creating a firebath and pizza oven, to name a few.

    In regards to us, we are both easy-going, active people who love the outdoors. We know each other very well through making long trips in the mountains together, but live mostly separate lives to each other, with it being rare that both of us are here at the cabin at the same time. Independently, we have both always dreamed of living on the west coast and are very much in love with the landscape the coast offers, along with the local community here. We have both spent a lot of time overseas and have volunteered in many places around the world - so we certainly know what it’s like to be a helper in a new place.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The West Coast is one the most natural, remote and beautiful places in New Zealand. Our home offers the opportunity to live in what feels to be a very remote location (but yet close to town for anything you need) and close to the endless outdoor pursuits.

  • Arbeit


    As with any venture, many hands and friendly faces make work easier and more enjoyable, so we're warmly welcoming anyone enthusiastic to come and join us. Practical building skills, self-initiative and creativity would be great assets for anyone to bring with them, but regardless of your background, if you're keen to help / learn, then your time will be valued here.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    For anyone motivated to stay with us, we ask that you stay for one week or longer and we can offer food and shelter for a half day's help in return. As described above, living here is simple; electricity is a small solar system, water is from the roof, the toilet is a compost loo, and (hot) showering is outside under a rimu tree. Sleeping options are constantly evolving, so ask us if this may be a concern for you, but the best we could offer for the summer of 2023/24 would most likely be a 3-man tent with a thermarest + bedding, and a tarp over top. Surrealy enough there is good cellphone coverage around the cabins. If you're coming in a van (and wish to sleep there) then the last 1km of road is private (with a locked gate), and there's a large, flat area at the end of the road / start of the track to the cabin, so if you had your own sleeping option with wheels then parking up there would be no worries at all.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are about 7 minutes drive from Greymouth - for supermarkets, petrol stations, shops, laundry, hospital and all the usual supplies in a small local town. There's no bus service to our place, so if you're arriving by bus or train then we can pick you up from town easily.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Half a day's help

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 615363287559

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Come spend some time with us in Motueka, New Zealand
Share family life and help around the house and garden in Wānaka, New Zealand