General help on our 12 acre property in Victoria, Australia

  • Bisher 273 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 20 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *** At the moment we are still completing renovations the second house and need people who would be happy painting and as it's Spring we need people who like gardening too :)

    We moved from Melbourne to a 12 acre property in South West Gippsland five years ago. Our location is atop a spur overlooking the Moyarra valley with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. It’s beautiful but there is a lot to do!
    The property suffered from about 20 years of neglect and we are working on a wide range of ongoing projects including the renovation and restoration of two houses, garden design and construction, farm fencing and machinery housing. Daily work includes cooking, cleaning of house and animal enclosures, weeding and general maintenance.
    We have a growing menagerie which includes chickens, guinea fowl, a peacock, miniature goats, highland cattle, bees, livestock guardian dogs as well as a domestic cat and large parrots. The parrots are a big part of everyday life here and guests have the opportunity to interact and learn how to work with them if they wish. There is also animal grooming to be done.
    In our mid fifties with no children we have worked in a range of industries including music, sound engineering, IT project management, teaching and running a fresh produce company. We have both travelled widely and enjoy the opportunity to share our experiences and learn from others.
    Cooking, bread making, entertaining and listening to music are things we really enjoy and we love to learn more about cuisines and customs from around the world. We have a meat based diet and do our best to ensure that our food is ethically raised and processed. We try to eat seasonally and locally as much as possible. Growing all our own fresh produce is the ultimate plan.
    Special dietary requests (vegetarian/vegan/coeliac/lactose free etc) can be catered for but please make sure you address this in your initial message to us even if it’s in your profile.
    We are respectful of our workaway guests and expect the same in return. This extends to how you treat our facilities, equipment, machinery and animals.

    Accommodation may be offered in either house but all meals are served in the main house where we live. We eat very well and the kitchen is very well equipped, including a cafe quality coffee machine. Cooking, meal preparation and cleaning tasks are shared with our guests.
    Both houses have full, unlimited internet access so if you need to work online it’s possible.
    Workaway work is usually 25 hours per week. Days and times can be flexible.
    All workawayers must have valid travel insurance in case of accidents. No heavy smokers please.

    Our property is quite isolated and not serviced by public transport. We visit the local towns quite regularly and you are welcome to come along but it is important that you are happy to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life. A drivers licence is an advantage here.
    The holiday town of Inverloch is about 20 mins away with swimming and surf beaches on offer and there are a number of bushwalking trails as well as the Great Southern Rail Trail. We are about fifty minutes drive from Phillip Island and about 90 mins drive from Wilsons Prom. There are also lots of cafes to visit as well as a local brewery and several distilleries.
    Please read our reviews before sending a message.

    Al & Karen

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have both travelled extensively and been closely involved in community arts and social organisations. Our property offers a chance to learn about sustainable hobby farming, cattle, chickens, parrots behaviour and training, bee keeping, cooking and local food and wine. There is also opportunity to meet a range of people including local farmers, brewers, artists and musicians.
    Karen does a lot of volunteer work so there is also the opportunity to help out with some of those projects too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking to find people to help with a range of tasks around the farm as well as assist in setting up the gardens and building works. There is also general property maintenance, cleaning, cooking and animal care to be done on a daily basis.
    No specific experience required but you must be willing and able to follow instructions and be respectful of all tools and machinery for your safety and ours.
    Good communication skills are an advantage.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depending upon how many we have staying we have a guest room with QS bed and own bathroom in the main house and two bedrooms (DB & QS) with a shared bathroom in the second house on the property.
    The second house on the property is currently undergoing renovation so is part accommodation (upstairs) and part building site (downstairs).
    Full unlimited broadband connected to both houses
    Air-conditioning/heating in both houses.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Gippsland has a wide range of activities and sights including beaches, cafes, wineries, bushwalking, surfing...
    Own transport may be an advantage but not essential as we can assist. Kayaks are also available for anyone interested in exploring the coastal inlet nearby.
    Non smoking household and we would prefer no heavy smokers.
    Whilst we have a meat based diet we are happy to accommodate vegetarian/vegan choices.
    Guests will need to be ok with large parrots who are part of the family as well as our livestock guardian dogs.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Unlimited broadband available throughout the house and in the guest room. A number of different work spaces available.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have capacity for travellers with their own accommodation but it can be very weather dependant. Send us a message if you are interested and we can let you know.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 25 hours / week, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 582123739433

Feedback (25)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)


































Join us on our property and help with gardening and DIY projects in Bayview, Australia
Come and help an ordinary Aussie family with many stories and experiences to share in Loch, Australia