Experiment a true eco-friendly way of living in our organic farm in the mountains of the beautiful Nahar Ibrahim Valley, Lebanon

Country

Lebanon

Bisher 646 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.07.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our farm is located in the mountains of the beautiful Nahar Ibrahim Valley. The house belongs to Raed's family and I'm (Joanna) a French architect. The house is surrounded by an orchard (mainly apple trees) and we grow vegetables between the trees. All day long you'll be able to enjoy spectacular views over the valley.
    Our aim is to create a place to promote an eco-friendly way of living. We try to live a sustainable life as much as possible in many different ways : eating and transforming what we grow, reducing garbage, experimenting agrofarming principles and natural building, empowering biodiverisity, reducing water consumption etc.

    We converted the orchard into an organic orchard a few years ago, we were the first in the valley to do so. Little by little we changed from an apple orchard only to a diversified orchard with vegetables, berries and animals (chicken, goose and sheep) between the trees !
    Part of our work is also to transform the products that we have in the garden. We make apple juice (and many other apple products), rose water, Arak, liquors, Kombucha, jams, tomato sauce etc.

    Raed works in the orchard taking care of the trees and of the vegetables. He sells our products every week end at Beyrouth's farmer market. I'm making some wood furniture and earth building experiments. We have two little boys Nour (4 years old) and Naim (2 years old) with us all the time and many other children passing by, so it's impossible to get bored !

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our farm is unique in the country, by staying with us you will have the opportunity to discover a very special way of living.
    At our place you will learn about the Lebanese culture and from the life of the mountains, Raed's family is originally from the village. We work all year long with Hamid and Mhammad (syrians) who live at the farm with their families.
    Apart from that you will of course learn a lot about organic gardening, cooking and about eco-friendly building.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The volunteer will have to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week with two days off (Saturday and Sunday).
    Depending of the time of the year the work can be in the garden (harvesting, planting, weeding, preparing the plots...), in the kitchen (making jam, tomato sauce, drying fruits, making juice...) or helping with some general maintenance (cleaning, tidying up, organizing new spaces...). Sometimes we also need help with the children.

    During your free time and your days off you can go to Beyrouth, have a walk in the area or discover the rest of the country.

    We have been hosting for a while now and its really an opportunity for us to travel (through you !) exchange and spend nice moments together.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Arabisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Raed is the one who speaks fluent arabic and we usually speak french together, but we'd be delighted to have more arabic spoken at the farm !

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be living in a separate apartment that you will share with one young Lebanese (Remy). You will have a bed in a three bed dorm and a shared bathroom.

    We will provide you with vegan food, (fruits and vegetables form the garden, apple juice, vinegar, tomato sauce, rice, boulgour, flour...) all the rest you can easily buy in the shop next to the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are many nice walks to do around. The Afqa spring is 1 hour walk from the house and from there you can hike on the LMT, a beautiful trail going from North to South Lebanon through the mountains. There is also Jabal Moussa's reserve not far from the house which is a beautiful protected area with many endemic plants where you can easily spend the day walking.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Friendly animals are welcome.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 558737369776