Join us on our smallholding haven, on the beautiful West coast near Cardigan, Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 173 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.03.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    302

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We moved to countryside in 2010 after finding & falling in love with our home & its grounds, 6 miles from Cardigan & 1 mile from coastal village of Aberporth.

    Property & land sits on side of the valley looking seaward. It is a haven for wildlife & for us. We share home & hearts with our young bonkers Dobermann Poppy.

    Home is a dormer bungalow, within 5 acres of woodland, stream, pasture, market gardens, & orchard. Sadly land & house has been neglected for a number of years, & it remains a constant flow of work to keep mother nature at bay and the smallholding managed with brush cutting, coppicing, hedge laying and pruning.

    Basic work done, we want to further adapt & improve the grounds to enable our journey towards self sufficiency. We have interest in eco friendly methods & are hoping to convert to use alternative energy where possible.

    Keen to use natural methods, we are enthusiastic learners, & turn our hand to whatever is needed to achieve our dream. Straw bale building started in 2013 and is a work in progress. It now habitable...it has cold water supply, composting toilet, wood stove heating and a small kitchen area. We are keen to continue its development with addition of some windows for winter sun warmth and decorating the inside. We also want to create an outside kitchen area with a cob oven, rocket stove and fire pit area... maybe even a hot tub!

    Poultry, rare breed waterfowl & dairy goats share our space and help us manage the land and provide milk/cheese and meat for our needs.

    Accommodation options are - bell tent/room in house/straw bale building.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a friendly couple who are happy to share our eclectic backgrounds with our workaway guests.
    Matthew is a great cook and likes to turn his hand to many styles, always using our own produce where possible. He loves to learn new recipes.

    We have a lot of different opportunities available for learning...especially small livestock and relating to management of land...depending on time of year.

    Coastal access with great walks, beaches and the towns nearby are full of history and interesting places to visit.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help required includes digging, weeding, pruning, planting
    Woodland management, chainsawing, chipping and hedge laying. Wood splitting/stacking.

    Fence repair or replacement as required.

    Ditch clearance and management of stream that cuts through woodland.

    Garage and sheds available with relevant tools for woodwork etc.

    Compost management including mucking out animal housing, goats, chickens, waterfowl etc.

    No dig market garden + polytunnel. Maintaining paths/steps. Planting, weeding and harvesting.
    Water management, developing systems to move and use rainwater where possible for use on the holding

    Livestock management and care. Management of breeding groups, and hatched growers. Egg sales at gate/by post.

    Improve fencing for safe manageable ranging where safe/able. Build/repair pens for growing stock.

    Strimming and brush cutting rough areas in woodland/fencelines, hay making, drying forage and herbs.
    Maintain electric fencing/general fencing.

    2019- straw bale building continues to evolve- lime washing inside walls and outside still need to be done. Kitchen area is now established and it has lights and plumbing!

    We are meat eaters and do home slaughter, although it may be possible to cater for other needs if we know ahead of time about any special diets or allergies/medical conditions. We use the produce we grow/raise in many of our meals and our priority is home grown/made in preference to shop bought items.

    Options for accommodation depend on time of year and availability of the strawbale building, but we always keep a room within the house.

    Broadband internet is supplied via wifi through the main house and there is a cable to the router in the strawbale building and we are now on fibre so speeds are pretty good for a rural area.

    Meals are taken with us or can be self catering to a degree...depending on facilities and preference. We do expect folk to get involved and let us know when items are running low/share cooking/cleaning duties.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A room in main house with access to same facilities we have- bit rough and ready as we are starting to renovate areas so it is disorganised and cluttered while we shuffle things around.

    Straw bale annexe - currently not available for lodging as in long term use- power/cold water with heat only via woodburner.

    Accommodation depends on number of volunteers, availability and weather/time of year.
    Renovations to the main house are underway and there can be disruption to hot water/electrics and lots of dust/mess!
    We rely on wood for our heating and hot water in Winter, and during the Summer we use electric water heater so hot water requirements must be planned ahead...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    1 mile from the beach at Aberporth, and 7 miles from Cardigan. On the main coastal route to explore the beautiful coast of West Wales, and 40 mins from the ferries going over to Ireland.

    We have two bicycles volunteers can use. There are good but rural bus/train links in the area. Our location can seem quite isolated if you are used to city life and having amenities available 24hrs a day. The area is reliant on tourism alongside farming so activities/events are often seasonal and weather dependant!

    We may be able to provide transport to a location, however Matt works full time, and we are a smallholding with animals so our own routines take priority.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Recently upgraded connection to fibre, so our connection is reliable and pretty good for such a rural location.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Check with us first as we live on a small lane and access can be interesting!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Any pets would need to be kept under full control, given the rare breed livestock we keep and countryside location. We also have an intact female dog!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 531921389463