Hilf mit Arabischen Pferden - Gestüt in St Albans, Hertfordshire, England

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 2275 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.08.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a single parent mother living on a beautiful fifteenth century farm just outside St Albans, Hertfordshire (approximately 25 minutes on the train from central London) with a small collection of beautiful Arabian horses and ponies. I believe in a natural horsemanship way of caring for them: every horse has its individual traits and needs an intelligent and appropriate form of care. The horses have been my passion for many years and offer a unique lifestyle with fabulous individuals in an idyllic beautiful and tranquil setting. It is hard work but incredibly rewarding.

    We are nature loving family with education in Maths, Finance and law who enjoy travelling, meeting people and music.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Overview of some the jobs and projects that volunteer work is needed for

    Horses
    Grooming (brushing and combing manes, helping to bath), handling horses (holding and leading), cleaning stables (encompasses water drinkers, bedding, sweeping yard, emptying wheelbarrows). Please do not assume this will be a riding holiday, we mostly have small ponies and retired horses.

    Farm
    Mending fencing, cutting down weeds, painting, clearing/tidying up inside and outside spaces, cleaning vehicles etc using a pressure washer, insulating mobile home.

    Garden
    Weeding, planting, mowing grass, collecting fruit (we have some apple trees, plums greengages and cherries)

    House
    Decorating, help with maintaining house and general chores, help with preparing dinners. Moving furniture and help upgrading furniture and house generally. Helping with my two children.

    Getting Here
    Pls do not book flights to Stansted because a little cheaper than Luton. Stansted is too far for us to collect and there are no direct routes from here to the farm and due to having to go into London and then back out can be quite expensive for you, it seems to be the least desirable option. Luton is no problem for picking up and by far the best option. The same applies to Heathrow though it is more possible to pick up from here but can't be guaranteed, I would still say Heathrow is better than Stansted. Gatwick is really quite a long way but it does have a direct train to St Albans which is easier to manage than that from Stansted.

    Getting Around
    At the bottom of our lane (1km) there is approximately 1 bus per hour which goes to St Albans, but not on Sundays.

    We really hope people can enjoy sharing our beautiful farm: despite the work we are incredibly fortunate to live here. In return for the chance to stay here and experience the farm our expectations are that you do approx. five hours work a day, treat accommodation the farm and all animals with care and respect and to leave all accommodation and services in a clean and tidy manner.

    We are happy to provide food and some shared mealtimes. We provide food storage, refrigeration and cooking facilities in the shared accommodation.

    If your spoken English language is a particular struggle, this placement probably wouldn’t be suitable for you as it is very important that we are able to communicate specifics of individual tasks clearly with you, both for the safety of you and the animals or other things you are working with.

    Obviously with our location near to london we are getting a large number of responses so please bear with us while we respond to you!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a decent sized static mobile home/caravan on the farm for volunteer use, comprising two separate bedrooms and good size living room/kitchen/dining area. We have had people living in it over the winter who have found it to be fine when heated but we do have plans to improve the insulation in the walls and underneath to improve matters.

    The mobile home accommodation will be shared with other workwayers. At any one time we can generally accommodate either two individuals or one individual and one couple.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    St Albans is a historic cathedral city dating back to Roman times. There is plenty to do and see around, but we have the benefit of having very good access to central London.

    Travel: there is a good bus service within a pleasant half a mile’s walk of the farm, which will take you both into St Albans and to St Albans City train station which runs Thameslink services direct to St Pancras International in London in around 20 mins where you can connect with services to many other destinations including Eurostar. St Albans also has a train and shuttle bus service to Luton Airport. We are accessible for Heathrow airport.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    On average we would expect you to help five hours a day... but varies depending on how quickly jobs get done!

This is the scene looking out of the front gates of the farm
'Spirit'
The farmhouse in full bloom!
The farmhouse
'Spirit', one of our most special horses


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 526151844672