Erlebe das Stadtbauernhöfchen-Leben in einem multikulturellen Auckland-Aussenbezirk - NS

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 372 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    70  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi. We are a lesbian couple with bees and chooks in Auckland's city fringe Sandringham.
    Various major public transport options within 5-10 minutes walk.

    We have planted over 45 fruit trees, have a good size vegetable garden.
    We garden organic and localist and casually participate in food rescue and distribution. We have a strong commitment to sustainable living which includes short showers and Ellen produces and builds many things.

    Our accommodation is for one physically fit guest (so far all workaway guests were really happy up in the loft of our Workaway shed). It's a small simple space for 1 person ONLY! But the shed is generally only used for sleeping and time-out times.

    Ellen is engaged in various community projects, mainly community gardens and food rescue.
    Our house volcano is Maunga Owairaka/Mt Albert, fitness depending it is a 20-40 minutes run/walk to its top. It gives you a good view of the city and you can count many the other nearby volcanoes.

    We cook and eat together, if we go out and you come along we pay for your meal on fair use terms.
    We do not provide free alcohol apart from when we feel we would like to offer some for a taste.

    We like to play board games in the evenings as we have no TV; but DVD movies and wireless internet on fair use terms is available.
    You are most welcome to participate in the community projects but that will be in your own time.

    GUYS, in this paragraph we introduce you to our non-negotiable rule, pls read up here: theguardian.com/commentisfree/2010/aug/21/unthinkable-having-a-sit-down.
    Please DO NOT apply if you can't promise that you will respect our rule :-).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We share heaps of garden skills, diy recipes and ways of doing things, foraging for weeds and other edible free/low cost food, community immersion, community projects, ....

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help cooking, cleaning & household work, do some art work on the new shed, little repairs, whatever. We expect about 25 hours a week but are totally relaxed and open as to how you arrange your volunteering time.

    More Jobs and skills we are looking for
    - ongoing garden maintenance
    - household, cleaning & cooking
    - Carpenter/builders work around house
    - house touch-up painting
    - create a piece of functional artwork

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German, a little Italian and French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Single mattress in the loft in the shed with good LED lighting, power and (fair-use) Wifi available. Very basic but of course you use the house for everything else. Some mobility/fitness required to access accommodation in the shed via a ladder.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have excellent knowledge of the city, good in-depth knowledge about its multicultural diversity, people and of course food. We live very central, many of Auckland's tourist attractions are well within an hour walk or bus/bike ride. we have a bicycle and a helmet for you.
    We do a diverse range of DIY and are more than happy to share our knowledge as well as learn from you.

    Guys, please have a read of our compulsory rule here and don't apply if you are uncomfortable - this is non-negotiable! Check link: theguardian.com/commentisfree/2010/aug/21/unthinkable-having-a-sit-down

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours distributed across the week on mutual agreement, happy for free days so you can go off to explore

Lukas repairing all sorts of dead appliances giving them a new lease of life.
Workaway guest Andy who stayed with us in March before settling in his new home not too far from here. Andy came back twice to help finish the Building A Kiwifruit Support project he had begun. Great company, we had many good laughs.
Part 2 of the manual.
Our wonderful and determined workawayer Ari created this lovely water garden for water chestnuts and water cress as well as providing a home for 6 goldfish.
Our second workawayer Marianne completing in style Daniels's great initial achievement - and now we have a large Huegelbed in our garden. Thanks guys 'n' girls!
Our first workawayer Daniel taking raised bed out and digging up a truckload of soil. Really well done!
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2010/aug/21/unthinkable-having-a-sit-down An important part to know for the guys who want to stay with us. German tradition and we are adamant about it. You can read more here :-)
This is the Workawayer loft, converted into a little homely place to sleep,Wifi, power, good LED lighting, comfy mattress, tilted window, curtains - a certain level of fitness is required to climb up the generic A-frame ladder. This is generally your space when you are there apart from weekday morning 6.30 where Ricky silently retrieves her bicycle.
Community project we are involved with: Together with other local residents in our suburb we do a bit of guerrilla gardening and fruit tree rearrangement with a permaculture approach and longer term view than the council contractors have.
our very greedy and sociable Miss P (RIP), Betty (RIP) and Hilda (RIP).
outdoor seating and pizza oven area
The wooden shed with the sleep-out loft for our workaway guest, the other bld is the garage comprising my hobby kitchen.
the view into our garden from the outdoor seating area
our prolific banana grove summer 2014
our pizza and bread oven in the back yard
our ragdoll cat Heinerle sunbathing on the deck
Beer brewing from scratch, my neighbour Rhys has all the equipment and won the Overall novice Brewers Champion 2013. We make German style wheat beer together and he often comes over with lots of tasting glasses full of his new creations.
Ricky and I, Ellen, walking in the Waitakeres on the Native Plant ID loop

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 515611157589