Join in with our off-grid life as we try to transform an abandoned olive farm into nature heaven near Tortosa, Catalonia, Spain

  • Spanien
  • Bisher 92 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    (Possibly looking for someone to stat in December on the farm alone so we can visit Paul's family Downunder! For that, a prior visit would be necessary to make sure it's a match!)

    Victor (French) and Paul (Australian) here. Living off grid.
    Rain water and solar energy..

    Guardians of a beautiful piece of land to produce olive oil and other fruits and nuts.

    The land is 20 minutes drive from Tortosa, at 350 meters altitude, with a beautiful valley and small sea view... beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the mountains.

    We have Khan our mountain lion (cat) and Capt'n Jack & the Girls (rooster and 4 hens).

    Working to transform what was an abandoned (at least 30 years) monoculture olive farm with dry compacted earth and little other life, into a food forest heaven...

    we’ve been here 3 years and the difference is already amazing, nature is incredible. It’s a gift to be shepherds of this land for now.

    We’re vegetarian, and liberal. Together we speak French, Spanish, German and English.

    Still building our house (no shower yet!) and we use an outdoor dry toilet. We use a hose and buckets to wash with organic soap and rain water from the cistern.

    There’s a great little caravan (Susanna) for visitors to stay in (you perhaps?) and loads of projects outdoors to complete. Like building an outdoor kitchen with pizza oven, planting trees, tending the veggie garden, clearing savage neglected land etc etc...

    It can be really windy. It can rain. It can be perfect. It can change quickly here...in summer it’s so darn hot and dry here. Really. It’s too much. 😂

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Paul is a pretty good cook.
    We can do language exchange if you like.
    We have great friends to share that are passionate about nature and organic cultivation of land.
    We do sport at home.
    We could do yoga together.
    We would learn together- we are amateurs that started this life 3 years ago after being professional dancers...
    And on days off there are beautiful cascades & beaches & nature walks to do.
    There is only one other human living in our mountain, so it’s mostly quiet except for the birds and the bees... and Tony of course... 🐓

  • Arbeit


    Mostly we would love people to help in the garden/land. If you’re a bee keeper, come help set us our two old hives that need love. If you want to build a pizza oven, yes please. If you can tile a bathroom come on down. If you can water vegetables and clear weeds/shrubs you’re welcome. If you can cut olive trees and wield a chainsaw you’re invited. If you can cut and stack wood, clean a chicken coup, and turn a compost then this might be a good fit. You need to be reasonably fit (Use garden tools, a wheelbarrow, bend down, lift some things, use a shovel etc)... it’s not super easy work here, and you need to be ok to use an outdoor dry toilet toilet! 😉

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Cute little caravan with double bed and own little gas cooker.. very comfy... It’s not soundproof, so the rooster might wake you up! Also place to park a van/live-in car if you have one.. (the road access maybe a challenge if your vehicle is super huge).

    Cold breakfast available (or eggs from the girls), cold meal for lunch like a yummy salad or something and a hot meal at night (vegetarian) and something sweet if you fancy.
    Coffee/tea/water always there..

    We won’t provide alcohol but you’re free to store it in our fridge...

    The farm is best arrived to by 4X4 or slowly in other vehicles. Or i come pick you up in town of course!

    We drive to town every couple of days to have a croissant and get anything we need.

    There’s no wifi but phone signal is decent. Or you can use our hotspots.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you have substance abuse problems that effect your ability to work or to relate to people, this place isn’t for you, example, if you drink a lot of alcohol, it won’t work.

    It’s a place to be independently responsible, to respect one another and of course to enjoy and cherish nature...

    This region is quite fascinating. There are thousands of people from different countries, many farms, many people living off grid & trying to aid nature to thrive. Beautiful mountains to explore not far away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    If it’s less than 6 meters long and 2.2 meters wide and doesn’t mind a very bumpy road, let’s talk!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 483657981492

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Beautiful place in the countryside, surrounded by nature, near the sea and near the mountains in Ulldecona, Spain
Language and cultural exchange with Italian family living in Barcelona, Spain