Pet care, new projects and general land help in Aqcuitan, France

  • Bisher 25 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Nigel and Jane, an Energetic and curious English couple in our 60's and we moved to the south west France about 5 years ago, from Normandy. We have been in this wonderful country for 15 years now. We live with our 2 dogs , a border collie and a pure bred mongrel!

    We have almost finished renovating our farmhouse slowly and have a lot to do on the 2.5 hectares of mixed woodland and fields, to improve the biodiversity. For many generations it was a vineyard. However, we also like to take time out to spend a little time with our neighbours and to enjoy this delightful part of the country.

    We are very lucky here as we have beautiful forests on our doorstep, the ocean, with endless beaches, fantastic for surfing as well as swimming, lakes and the Pyrenees to the south, all within easy reach. The Spanish border is 1.5 hours away, Bordeaux is 2 hrs and Toulouse 3 hrs.

    We are at the crossroads of the Gascon, Basque, French and Spanish cultures, and you will hear all of these languages spoken around here, a great mix of cultures. We look forward to meeting and sharing our home and ideas with you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are willing to pass on any construction skills that we have, in particular French electrical installation as I am a qualified electrician, but lots of other things too. We speak English and French and will be happy to develop your skills in that area. Nigel was an art teacher and would love to help, or work with, any budding artists in their spare time. A great way to relax after work. Cooking is also an interest where we can share recipes and skills , it's always good to try something new. We are happy to share our evenings with you or leave you to do your own thing, as you prefer. We can give you the occasional lift and you are always welcome to jump in the car with us if we are going out. However your own transport would be very useful. We can advise on the great things to do or see in the area, and if you have a special interest, let us know before you come and we will do some research for you.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help with the the final bits of external renovation. So you will need to have some maturity, skill and strength for this, though we are willing to teach. We could also use help outdoors, with general land management to improve the biodiversity, before introducing some local rare breed animals. Occasionally felling dead trees. We are looking to make a natural pond to increase the overall ecosystem. Carpentry skills would also be useful for making shutters and the like. We would expect you to keep your own room clean and tidy and a bit of general mucking in with keeping shared living space housework. From time to time we will look for a house/dog sitter so we can get away for a break.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We'd love to learn another language, especially Spanish or Portuguese but any language would be interesting.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house is set on the edge of a village with woodland and countryside from the back door. You would have 2 rooms and a bathroom to use. We will provide meals and hope you will share the food preparation from time to time and perhaps introduce us to something new. We would take your food preferences into account. You can have free access to the internet which is not bad here. We do not allow smoking in the house but its fine outside as long as you pick up your butts. We have quite eclectic music tastes but would need you to respect any requests for quiet time. We have camping equipment that you can use if you want to take off for a while.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no public transport from our village but from about 3Km away there is a minimal bus service that links to the town of Dax and Saint Sever and the villages in between. From these towns there are good train and bus services to explore further afield. Blabla Car is also active in the area and can be a very cheap way of getting about. We can lend you bikes to get about locally. The nearest bakery, store and bar/cafe is 2Km. Cinema, various groups and classes, such as yoga, supermarket shops and weekly market at 5Km. Our village does have various events that you could join . The area offers a multitude of outdoor activities from Easter to the end of October. Surfing, sailing and all the ocean related sports, gorgeous beaches for lounging and tanning. The forests offer peace and wildlife, with many trails and cycle paths, organised walks or just get lost on your own. There are some stunning lakes and river walks too. If you are into wine, come and discover the local Chalosse and Tursan vineyards and wines. The history of the area is long and varied so there are interesting museums, churches (our own village church is a little gem) and chateaux to visit. The Pyrenees are within easy reach and offer different experiences, depending upon the season. Dax is a hot spa town with history going back to Roman times. Visits to the cities of Bayonne, Bordeaux and San Sebastian, are a must. They are culturally so very different from each other.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Both of the rooms that would be available for you to use have desk and storage space. there is a fibreoptic internet connection which we think is pretty good.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Up to 7M parking on gravel in winter and grass in summer

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have 2 female dogs so other dogs are ok but no cats, birds or anything else they can eat!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or equivalent

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 419793932463

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help two ex-nomads to settle down and create a paradise by the lake in Auzas, France
Join our international community and help with gardening and renovation projects near Auch, France