Come and help to eco-renovate our house in the woods and create an organic forest garden in Brechfa Forest, Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 213 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.08.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    198

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    81.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ** Corona update- we are full for now! sorry, feel free to message us still to enquire about autumn onwards **

    We are Alicia and James, a young couple that moved to Wales from Brighton two years ago. We live in a 200 year old stone cottage surrounded by Brechfa forest. We have almost finished renovating the house using eco and traditional methods. When we moved in we had a 2 acre jungle of invasive species. We are increasing biodiversity, growing organic vegetables, planting trees, making a pond. next year we are keen to set up a forest garden, and grow even more vegetables and make more habitat areas for wildlife.

    James (33) is a tree surgeon and musician, Alicia (27) a former art student but is now doing a degree in child development. She works for a forest school, is a support worker, and runs children's art and craft activities in the school holidays. We are both veggie ( and gluten free), and like: nature, traveling, yoga and meditation, music, walking in the mountains. We have a puppy called Bronwen, and 2 cats called Buddha and Theo. We also now have 5 chickens and 3 ducks! We don't smoke, and we only drink occasionally. We like board games and watching movies, playing music in the evenings.

    In the next few years we are hoping to invite local schools for forest school sessions, start a community vegetable scheme where we can teach children and adults to grow vegetables and save seed, do woodland skills sessions with local teens and adults. We are also hoping to transform the barn into a yoga/ music/ art studio.

    Because we are foster carers, we cannot accept anyone who takes drugs, has mental health problems, or has a reliance on alcohol. please let us know any experience you may have in the caring profession, or experience with children, as this is very useful. although you will not ever be alone with foster children, we may ask you to do a DBS check. we will be happy to answer any questions about this over the phone as we usually have a phone call or skype with you before you arrive.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This part of wales is really beautiful, there are loads of awesome walks from our house, we are right on the edge of the woods. There are so many amazing birds you can see from our garden! Including Goshawks, buzzards, owls, woodpeckers, swallows, etc! If you need a bit of peace and quiet and time for self reflection this is the place for you.

    things we like to do on our days off: go to seaside towns, drink a cider and play cards by the beach, do coastal walks, or go for a walk somewhere new. You are welcome to join us on your day off or take the bus and go somewhere that interests you more. We can give you a lift to the train station and pick you up if you have a day trip in mind.

    Fun stuff nearby- the botanical gardens, open mic nights, veggie cafes, beachs!, castles and stuff! In the woods behind our house there are loads of mountain bike tracks,

    The only thing to mention is if you need super nightlife and going out, this probably isn't the place for you, we are 20 mins drive from the nearest town, if you don't have a car theres not much you can walk or cycle too, (you might just about be able to cycle to the nearest pub in 1 hour, or walk to Brechfa village in 2 hours. The bus into town is a 30 minute walk away). But obviously you can come to town with us when we go, as and when!

    Because of the house being in the middle of nowhere, it may suit couples or groups of friends better than individuals, but this is a personal preference !

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help could include: gardening, strimming, chopping firewood, cutting back the Japanese knotweed, help renovating the barn, taking cement render off the house, growing food, weeding vegetable patch, setting up polytunnel, making outdoor furniture, making a greenhouse from second hand glass, growing mushrooms from logs and converting the barn

    alicia and james work part time, so sometimes one of both of us will work with you, and sometimes you will do jobs on your own

    Our house is heated by a woodburner rather than oil or gas for sustainability reasons, so cutting and chopping storing wood is an ongoing thing for us throughout the year. We also need help growing vegetables, weeding etc. we are doing the no-dig method of organic vegetables. You don't need experience in growing veg, we can show you if your interested.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer our lovely caravan in the garden. its a small touring caravan containing 2 double beds ( in the same room, so really only good for a couple, or a family with young children, or very good friends who dont mind eachothers snoring!). you can have the use of our house in the day of course, for meals and bathroom and hanging out in the evenings. me and james lived in the caravan for over a year and found it a very nice experience. the caravan does contain a small kitchen and is connected to electricity.

    our house is on a well system, so we have lovely spring water with no weird chemicals in it. in summer we usually have to ration showers to make sure we don't run out of water in the dry months, even sometimes we all go to the local swimming pool for a good long shower! or we have been known to wash in the local river! james is building a rainwater shower and compost toilet soon to help with this issue.

    Meals
    We will provide 3 meals a day including weekends, the cooking is done on a rota so its shared between all that are eating. We cook veggie or vegan whatever people prefer.

    Please note- no cooking meat in the house or caravan please.
    also, we usually don't provide alcohol, but we can take you to the shops so you can buy whatever you need :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 383617212793