Join our community for experimenting with new forms of living near Maple Grove, Canada.

Country

Kanada

Bisher 29 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.11.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a burgeoning collective farm and community in Maple Grove, NS (the unseated land of the Mi'kmaq) . We are (right now) four couples, one baby, two dogs, two dozen chickens (and a growing number of ground hogs:) trying to live together and build this property into its greatest expression. When we are not working on our own creative projects we work with the land to grow together into something inspiring, healing, sustaining and hopefully useful for a world we see as broken and lost. The desires of this land are forever unfolding but they seem to be in the directions of growing organic food, hosting community events, creating art, offering retreats and being a space to experiment with off grid living, DIY machines and alternative living and building. Until now the land has hosted a yearly electronic music festival, a direct action training focused on land defense, an alternative building workshop, a Star Hawk gathering on Spirit and Action and a few smaller community events. We are grateful for all the ways we have grown together and we like to dream big. We dream of living in harmony with the land and each other. Of having a market garden, getting goats and growing veggies and farming fish through the whole year. We're planning on rebuilding a barn we dismantled into a community hall / event space. We hope to do lots more building with straw, cob, aircrete and slip straw clay. Some of us are working on creating space to be a pottery / art studio. Others dream of offering cabin retreats in the woods based on the gift economy.

    The big dreams and community events are not present in every season. Some times there is just two of us here with our baby. Other times just one of us with the dogs. In these times one might experience the property as more of a home stead. We work in the garden, stack fire wood and mow the grass.

    When you have time to yourself in Maple Grove it can be nice to go for walks in the woods, go swimming in the pod, river, lake or bay. You can go fishing, play with plants or make art (maybe we'll have our pottery / workshop / studio set up by then).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a community and living and working together is a central part of what we do. This takes, practice, intention and means sharing and playing. Sometimes the property is quiet and slow. But other times there are visitors, friends, work exchangers and passers by who all bring their own enthusiasm, ideas and rich contributions to the social life of this space.

    We are always experimenting with new forms of gardening, building and living. Most of us wouldn't identify as experts in any of it but we have experience we're happy to share and enthusiasm for trying things together. We love cloning perennials, grafting apple trees, taping maple trees for syrup, foraging mushrooms, fiddle heads and herbs, cooking with local food. We enjoy building the old ways with clay and straw and trying the new ways with aircrete and geodesic domes. We're half way through setting up a aquaponics system in a shipping container and greenhouse.

    We're all pretty weird in our own way but we think most people appreciate it... We are fire spinners, Djs, Mechanic's and free birthin mamas. We are anarchists, artists and mad scientists. We are astrologers, aerialists and musicians. We are nature lovers, bike riders and plant medicine appreciators. We are costume designers, healers and revolutionaries. We are LGBTQ friendly and try our best to create safer spaces for the many iterations of human expression.

    So... basically... If you like meeting an eclectic group of people and having interesting conversations this might be the place for you. If you like learning and experimenting we might be able to teach you a thing or let you try an other. If you enjoy nature and being close to the trees, in the river or working with the land this may be the land for you.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are working on many different things through the days and are open to establishing a work focus and flow that is mutually beneficial. We always have lots of gardening and planting and managing perennials to do. We are doing landscaping to make spaces beautiful for ourselves and community events. We are always building. Fixing up the old farm house, painting, finishing the plaster on the aircrete dome, building other spaces in the woods on the land (we dream of a sauna). There is always moving brush, wood chipping, taking care of the chickens. There might be stacking fire wood, spreading hay, organizing tools and mowing grass.

    We're pretty open to hosting anyone who feels like a good fit. It is definitely nice to have people with carpentry experience or a willingness to learn. There is a lot of heavy manual labour that its nice to have help with but if moving brush isn't your thing there will always be weeds to pull:) We hope to host people who can jive well with the social aspect here and a shared kitchen but its also nice if we have guests who can be independent.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Some people speak French and Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a few spaces outside that will be available depending on the needs of the time. There is a spare room in the farm house, a tent trailer in the back, a renovated school bus in the yard and a yurt/yome in the woods. All have privacy, a queen mattress or bigger and a cook stove. There is also access to the kitchen in the house and a space in the fridge.
    We share and provide simple and quality ingredient. There are 8 types of dried beans, 8 types of grain, 8 kinds of flour mostly all pretty local and organic. We have farm fresh eggs, seeds, coffee, teas, raw milk and cheese from down the road, organic vegetables from the garden or near by and occasional free rang chicken or grass fed beef. We love to share and some or many meals may be communal but its good to count on cooking for oneself. If there is something in your diet that is important and not in our kitchen we're happy to try to help you out.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a stream a walk away in the woods and a pond just before the trees. There is a river 10 minutes walking and an old rail way trail that takes you on hikes in a few directions. 30 minutes walking are the Maitland bat caves set into towering gypsum cliffs. And just 5 minutes walking is a grandmother maples tree that looks after the sprawling fields.
    We live 10 min from the Bay of Fundy beaches with the highest tides in the world. We swim at high tide and walk the mud flats at low. We are 5 minutes from the Shubenacadie river that flows into the bay at times and is filled by the bay at others. There are many tourist companies offering rafting trips that cruse the giant tidal bore wave that comes at the tide's turn. Oh! And there is a canoe and a lake 3 minutes away.

    Swing when its warm is a common thing. Its nice to have a suit or be prepared to be nude. Hummm... what else? Bugs can be bad in the evenings. It clay heavy soil so rubber boots are nice when its wet. We have an electric piano and a few guitars and drums you are welcome to use but if you bring your instrument than there will be more available for jamming:)

    Lastly... The vibe and work here can vary greatly between day and season. Sometimes its a full social spot and sometimes its just a few hermits. Sometimes there is repetitive labour and sometimes creative art. If there is something that you are particularly attracted to feel free to check in with us to make sure it will be part of your stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 381819588376